FAQ: Painting Salamanders

Thank you in advance for any commentary you have to add. As the title says I am a new 40k player looking to paint his first chapter, the mighty Salamanders of Nocturne. I have come up with some of my own ideas but I'd like some practical advice for the more experienced. I'm trying to go for a darker, more "sooty" look as befitting the residents of a volcanic death world.

1) This is the most important question. I'm extremely retentive but I'm just starting out with painting. If you have any suggestions on what kinds of things to do to build some experience while hopefully doing a decent job I'd love to hear it. If it means that anything I ask below is beyond me, please say so.

2) Most of my figures are already primed black. I want the green to be just a bit dark. I have plenty of Snot Green for the task. I'm planning on using Goblin Green for highlighting the lighter areas and maybe Dark Angel green for shading. Any thoughts?

3) For the honorary flame badge, I'm using Legion of the Damned flame shoulder pads on my Tactical Squads. I'm planning on trying to make a flaming wing design on the shoulder pad for Assault Squads and a volcanic like explosion design for Devastators. These will be painted with a layer of Fiery Orange in the center of the flame with Blazing Orange radiating out.

4) Skin tones: I plan on alternating dark and light skin with those Marines without helmets, to pay respect to both the old and new fluff. I'll be using Dark Flesh and Dwarf Flesh respectively but any suggestions how to give them sort of a "singed" look, sort of like someone who's out in the sun all the time?

5) Weapons: Tin Bitz with Chaos Black perhaps?

6) Sgt. Helmets: I know Salamander Sgts. wear gold helmets, but does anyone have any suggestions for lens colors that won't be obnoxious?

7) Any suggestions on how to get the "well used" look on heavy flamers, melta weapons, etc. (that dirty brown heated metal look)

Thanks so much.