Combat Shield counts as Storm Shield

Parcival

Dear Brothers,

Like many of you (probably) I have a big surplus of Combat Shields from my Assault Squad boxes, but with the new Codex I seem to have an indefinite need for Stormshields. Now I am thinking about using those Comat Shields as Stormshields for my Jump Infantry (only JP!) as you could come up with fluff reasons why Stormshields for JP aren't as big.

(1) Would your friends allow this Counts As in a friendly game? (mine would, but I want to test what would happen if I play a friendly game with strangers)

(2) Do you think this Counts As would pass in a tournament with WYSIWYG requirements?

(3) I already have Veterans with proper Stormshields, so my models would have a mix of Combat and Stormshields. Do you think it would be ok for other players if I told them "every shield is a Stormshield" or would that confuse them too much?

There's no hard and fast rule as to what Storm Shields look like, people just tend to use the terminator models as reference. I would imagine that as long as you make the distinction to your opponent before the game there shouldn't be a problem, even in tournaments.

Do you think it would be ok for other players if I told them "every shield is a Stormshield" or would that confuse them too much?

Anyone sho gets confused by that would never be able to find their way out of the house to get to a tournament in the fist place.

I did this exact thing with my VV. I just sawed off some hands and attached them right on. No one has ever had a problem with, no one has ever mentioned anything to me. I simply give a list rundown at the beginning of a game and something like "these are the VV's and they have 2 storm shields." No one ever went "OMG THOSE ARE COMBAT SHIELDS!!!"

They are appropriately sized and there is no rule of how big a SS needs to be.