Dark Angels Novitiate

Captain_Quirk

Hello my Brothers.

Due to a maleficent and wasteful illness I have been locked away in secret these past 10 years and attended by the finest physicians and Chirurgeons of the Imperium. Thankfully, my blood was purged of my illness and I have been released, free to roam the stars and bring death to the Enemies of Mankind once more (random fluff).

Recently I was gifted a Dark Vengeance Limited Ed box for my birthday. It has been long since I painted. 10 years or more. I have had experience daubing fearsome Orks and the vile Tyranids and even a few of the Emperors Finest, but this is my first attempt at Dark Angels.

Below are a few of my first models. These are not from the DV box but rather a few old Tactical Marines I've had laying around for an eternity (blasphemy, I know) that I wanted to practice on first.

I have an innate tremor, a legacy of the medications I was forced to take as a youth and as such it is rather hard for me to paint quickly and efficiently so please do not judge me too harshly! These four models have taken me roughly 10 hours. Hopefully this will improve with practice. I would appreciate any tips anyone is willing to give, especially on how to paint the folds in robes and standards.

The base coat was Imperial Primer over which I painted Waagh! Flesh darkened with Imperial Primer and then the whole model was washed in Coelia Greenshade. The armour highlights (if you can see them) have been done with straight, thinned, Warpstone Glow.

Sergeant (un-highlighted) -

http://s8.postimage.org/ap3rqg279/IMAG0100.jpg

http://s8.postimage.org/lpywvgug5/IMAG0101.jpg

All four -

http://s8.postimage.org/5g8qskjs5/IMAG0102.jpg

Tactical without weapons. Weapons have been painted and glued now. Flamer on left and Melta on right -

http://s8.postimage.org/xue6cg7c5/IMAG0104.jpg

Sergeant and Tactical Marine. The Tac Marine I put together first and in a hurry and as a result it was hard to paint and looks horrible -