Came in 2nd at tournament!

Garath

Greeting brothers!

I am a very happy camper today,as I just finished a local tourney with 32 players (most of them VERY competitive ) and came in second!

About the final standings I'll comment later- but what seemed very unlikely has happened. I am a 40k veteran , and DA are my 8th army over they years. I hate playing with unpainted models and I hate powergamers which win events just because their codex is currently hip, and can only win with cheessy lists.

Prologue

With that out of my system , onto the event. It was a single day event with 3 games. My original plan was to go with Orks, but my wife's wish was to go for a walk in the centre- and we all know refusing that isn't a very good move in the long run.

So she says: "Honey (a popular term used by females when they want their male to go out of his way to please her desires) , my dad needs the car since his is in repair, so you'll be going by tram...and we could go for a walk."

- "aha ?"

- "so I was thinking, how many boxes do you need to carry your army" (as with a large Ork force in no less then 4 cases it is a bit hard taking a relaxing stroll down town center and watching the x-mas lights etc)

- "a few"

- "could you use less? - like one?"

- "sugar...orks should be used en masse" :P

- ".... ok, I'll use The Emperor's finest then !"

- "emperor???"

- "Space Marines!"

-"....aha....ok, and they fit in one box? "

- "yes, they do"

So, it 9.15 pm, you just reliazed that you have to use an army you haven't planned for and don't really have a competitive combo ready- what do you do?

I do have a painted up Deathwing force, with Dreads and Land Raiders in support- but I felt it wouldn't fare well , a different approach was needed.

Right...

The final list followed a 4th ed style of play- before rhinos and Razorbacks became all the rage.

HQ

Belial with Lightning Claws( yeah baby! )

Librarian with terminator armour

Troops: