However, that said, for the record I've always treated Stormcaller as;
If charging, you have frags, and so under 4th ed, the charging unit struck at I10. If the unit was being charged was in cover, they had I10 as well, and if not, worked from they're base I, and so struck last. Now under 5th ed, having frags in the charging unit means that combat always changes back to I level, which means exactly that, you strike at I, wether charging a unit in cover or not in cover.
When being charged, you were treated as being in cover, so automatically had I10. If the enemy had frags, they also struck at I10, if not, we strike first (under 4th ed.). Now under 5th, again, having frags in the charging unit changes things back to I level. So, if we're charged by a unit that does not have frags, we strike first. However if the charging unit is carrying frags, combat is resolved at I level.
This is my interpretation of the rules for Stormcaller, from my 2nd Printing copy of the SW 'dex.
No where does it say anything about automatically striking first regardless of the situation. The key quotes from it is; "This unit counts as being in cover for rules purposes" (so regarding how combat is resolved if charged) and "may assault and, if they do so and the enemy are also in cover, attacks are resolved simultaneously". Therefore, if the enemy is in cover, and you charge, you strike at the same time as them. No where does it acctually say that combat is resolved as if you had frags (it was just the easiest way to remember it for 4th ed.). So if your using Stormcaller in 5th ed. At best, we strike at the same time... NOT before. The rule says nothing about charging units outside of cover and getting first hit.
As to getting first strike when charged... interpretive, as Keith said. Realistically, it was intended to be used as if in cover, which to me means that if the enemy has frags, combat goes back to being resolved as per normal. However unfortunately due to the wording GW used, there are those amongst us would like to say that this means we get first strike regardless when charged. My take on that, is that trying to use the rule like that is cheesey at best, and I know exactly what I'd say to a SW player who tried to pull that on me, although I won't repeat it here
Edited by Silverwolf, 21 July 2008 - 02:07 AM.