Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

A wolf Lord with a pair of Lightning Claws in TDA


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
19 replies to this topic

#1
VonMerrick

VonMerrick

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 362 posts
I was wondering if more players out there gave a pair of Lightning Claws to their wolf lord in TDA, and if so how survivable was he? I know the killing prowess of the Lord with Claws, a pelt, and a wolf tooth necklace but just wondered how many Lords equipped this way survived the entire game. Basically, I was wondering if a Frost blade and storm shield would be more beneficial leaving the claws to a WBGL.

Edited by VonMerrick, 11 August 2008 - 07:57 PM.


#2
Valhalla

Valhalla

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 170 posts
Your bottom suggestion is what I use for my 2000 point list (w/ ven dread) and have had fantastic results with it. Also with the changes to storm shields you'll boost his survivability big time.

#3
Wolf89

Wolf89

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,739 posts
Lords are highly survivable with a belt of russ using TDA with Lightning claws, also giving them 4 fenrisian wolves, it's just amazing. :)
-Before you post a question you have about space wolves check here first then check here second-


#4
KeithGatchalian

KeithGatchalian

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 264 posts
Depends. With his high Init, combined with Stormcaller, he should be going first and killing anyone who can harm him. So double claws, or a frost blade with a combi melta is my usual kit out.

That being said, many missions give bonus points to your enemy if they kill your general. To prevent this, in a tournament setting, giving him a better invuln save would be smart.

#5
Valhalla

Valhalla

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 170 posts

Depends. With his high Init, combined with Stormcaller, he should be going first and killing anyone who can harm him. So double claws, or a frost blade with a combi melta is my usual kit out.

That being said, many missions give bonus points to your enemy if they kill your general. To prevent this, in a tournament setting, giving him a better invuln save would be smart.


Stormcaller isn't for a wolf lord.

I like to give mine the frost blade and storm shield combo because its very cost effective compared to other options. For about 110 points you get an I5 character with a 3+ invul save (soon) with 5 attacks on the charge and 6 on the counter charge with the wolf pelt.

#6
CaptInsaneO

CaptInsaneO

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 40 posts

Depends. With his high Init, combined with Stormcaller, he should be going first and killing anyone who can harm him. So double claws, or a frost blade with a combi melta is my usual kit out.

That being said, many missions give bonus points to your enemy if they kill your general. To prevent this, in a tournament setting, giving him a better invuln save would be smart.


Stormcaller isn't for a wolf lord.

I like to give mine the frost blade and storm shield combo because its very cost effective compared to other options. For about 110 points you get an I5 character with a 3+ invul save (soon) with 5 attacks on the charge and 6 on the counter charge with the wolf pelt.



I imagine Keith is suggesting you cast Stormcaller on your wolf lord's unit if you have a Librarian :tu:
40k isn't just about winning, it's about how well you lose. If you're opponent is going to win, the less models of his alive to brag about it the better :)

I hate Lucius.

#7
KeithGatchalian

KeithGatchalian

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 264 posts

Depends. With his high Init, combined with Stormcaller, he should be going first and killing anyone who can harm him. So double claws, or a frost blade with a combi melta is my usual kit out.

That being said, many missions give bonus points to your enemy if they kill your general. To prevent this, in a tournament setting, giving him a better invuln save would be smart.


I thought about it a bit, and realized you shouldn't get the +1 bonus for the true grit with a special weapon. I'd still give him the melta just for a shooting attack at BS 5.

#8
Wolf89

Wolf89

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,739 posts

Depends. With his high Init, combined with Stormcaller, he should be going first and killing anyone who can harm him. So double claws, or a frost blade with a combi melta is my usual kit out.

That being said, many missions give bonus points to your enemy if they kill your general. To prevent this, in a tournament setting, giving him a better invuln save would be smart.


I thought about it a bit, and realized you shouldn't get the +1 bonus for the true grit with a special weapon. I'd still give him the melta just for a shooting attack at BS 5.


You wouldn't get the extra for having 2 CCW when you charge, but when you Counter Attack you will because true grit works with combi weapons. :D
-Before you post a question you have about space wolves check here first then check here second-


#9
KeithGatchalian

KeithGatchalian

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 264 posts
You would anyway.....there's no qualifier on what weapons you have to get the counter attack bonus. You could have 1 weapon and still get it.

#10
kanaellars

kanaellars

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 279 posts
I don't know about a wolf lord (as I use Ragnar and Logan) but I have a WGBL with a single Lightning Claw and a Storm shield. Have tried a couple friendly games using the new storm shield rule (3+ invul shooting and melee) and he has never yet fallen!
For Russ! For the Wolftime! My wolves stand ready.

#11
Spacefrisian

Spacefrisian

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 7,154 posts
We could take a WGBL with a pair of claws and a Missile launcher. (it does sound cool somehow.)
There are no Deamons in 40k

#12
Wolf89

Wolf89

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,739 posts

We could take a WGBL with a pair of claws and a Missile launcher. (it does sound cool somehow.)


Sorry but we cannot. :rolleyes:

No matter how cool that'd be (I know I'd use it) the Missile Launcher is a 2-handed weapon, and you can only use another single handed weapon in conjunction and seeing as you're using 2 lightning claws with the 2-handed ML it's disallowed.

It'd be sweet though to model a WGBL holding a Las Cannon with his lightning claws. :P
-Before you post a question you have about space wolves check here first then check here second-


#13
Spacefrisian

Spacefrisian

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 7,154 posts

We could take a WGBL with a pair of claws and a Missile launcher. (it does sound cool somehow.)


Sorry but we cannot. :rolleyes:

No matter how cool that'd be (I know I'd use it) the Missile Launcher is a 2-handed weapon, and you can only use another single handed weapon in conjunction and seeing as you're using 2 lightning claws with the 2-handed ML it's disallowed.

It'd be sweet though to model a WGBL holding a Las Cannon with his lightning claws. :P


Whoa my mistake, i ment the cyclone missile launcher for TDA armour (which is almost the same)
There are no Deamons in 40k

#14
Wolf89

Wolf89

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,739 posts

We could take a WGBL with a pair of claws and a Missile launcher. (it does sound cool somehow.)


Sorry but we cannot. :rolleyes:

No matter how cool that'd be (I know I'd use it) the Missile Launcher is a 2-handed weapon, and you can only use another single handed weapon in conjunction and seeing as you're using 2 lightning claws with the 2-handed ML it's disallowed.

It'd be sweet though to model a WGBL holding a Las Cannon with his lightning claws. :evil:


Whoa my mistake, i ment the cyclone missile launcher for TDA armour (which is almost the same)


Actually it's closer to "same" as you might think... :huh: Even in TDA with a cyclone ML you can still only have 1 single-handed weapon. :P

The other hand is modeled as the "trigger" system for the CML and in the other hand you can have a storm bolter, or other single-handed weapon.

- I just checked the SM codex to be sure (haven't used CML's since 3rd) and there is shows in addition for the CML, so I guess you'd use the new C:SM where it's in addition.

Edited by Wolf89, 13 August 2008 - 03:13 PM.

-Before you post a question you have about space wolves check here first then check here second-


#15
Spacefrisian

Spacefrisian

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 7,154 posts
What's a trigger system?

Edited by Spacefrisian, 13 August 2008 - 04:06 PM.

There are no Deamons in 40k

#16
VonMerrick

VonMerrick

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 362 posts
The trigger system was modeled on the old metal Terminators years ago. In the current Space Marine codex this was redone so that one of the Terminators hands didn’t have to be used to hold a button to fire his missiles. I also believe this was FAQ’d in a wolves update a while ago, but can’t check the GW website at work.

I was toying with the idea of a cyclone and Twin Claws. Deathwing terminators can take this option as well and I know several people who have fielded them.

The only thing which stopped my thinking was how long GW was going to let a Lord or WGBL take a heavy weapon. I spend a lot ( way too much) time on each model so I really don't want to heavily convert a lord only to have him neutered in 6 months.

Edited by VonMerrick, 13 August 2008 - 04:30 PM.


#17
Dark Bjoern

Dark Bjoern

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 3,591 posts

What's a trigger system?

That´s a part of the Cyclone Missile Launcher back in 2nd Ed and IIRC 3rd Ed. and no longer in use.

2016-06-19_08.56.28_zps3jxgevkj.jpg2016-06-19_08.55.04_zpsl7ia3v3f.jpg


#18
kanaellars

kanaellars

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 279 posts

We could take a WGBL with a pair of claws and a Missile launcher. (it does sound cool somehow.)


Sorry but we cannot. ^_^

No matter how cool that'd be (I know I'd use it) the Missile Launcher is a 2-handed weapon, and you can only use another single handed weapon in conjunction and seeing as you're using 2 lightning claws with the 2-handed ML it's disallowed.

It'd be sweet though to model a WGBL holding a Las Cannon with his lightning claws. :evil:


The thing is... every other marine list except for us CAN do this. The missile launcher for TDA does not count as a two handed weapon any more, and in fact, I am sure I have seen a Black Templars Terminator with 2 LC and a Cyclone either on box art or in a WD recently.

We are the only marines it isnt legal for... and I think it will be legal for us in 2040 (when our new codex finally gets here)
For Russ! For the Wolftime! My wolves stand ready.

#19
Wolf89

Wolf89

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,739 posts

We could take a WGBL with a pair of claws and a Missile launcher. (it does sound cool somehow.)


Sorry but we cannot. :P

No matter how cool that'd be (I know I'd use it) the Missile Launcher is a 2-handed weapon, and you can only use another single handed weapon in conjunction and seeing as you're using 2 lightning claws with the 2-handed ML it's disallowed.

It'd be sweet though to model a WGBL holding a Las Cannon with his lightning claws. :evil:


The thing is... every other marine list except for us CAN do this. The missile launcher for TDA does not count as a two handed weapon any more, and in fact, I am sure I have seen a Black Templars Terminator with 2 LC and a Cyclone either on box art or in a WD recently.

We are the only marines it isnt legal for... and I think it will be legal for us in 2040 (when our new codex finally gets here)


It is legal for us, as I posted right after SpaceFrisian's comment.

On page 2 of the C:SW it clearly states "Unless noted otherwise in this volume, all of the rules, options and limitations that apply to a Space Marine army also apply to a Space Wolves army."

So we do use C:SM for the cyclone entry where it's an addition to their current weaponry. At least this is what it seems to be, if you strictly go off the C:SW then absolutely not, but using in conjunction with C:SM the argument is there, whether or not to try to pass off on a WGBL or not is another story.
-Before you post a question you have about space wolves check here first then check here second-


#20
VonMerrick

VonMerrick

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 362 posts
I agree it was in a Faq that I saw a while ago when the plastic terminators came out. I've seen that setup used at Gamesday Tournaments.

Also, I have 2 wolguard with cyclones and Storm bolters and Power Fists. I've used them in games with GW employees in their stores and no one even made metion of it.

Any conflicting information concerning wargear in our codex defaults to the info in the Space Marine codex. Hence the assault cannon is a rending weapon, even though its stat line is different in our dex.

Edited by VonMerrick, 13 August 2008 - 11:47 PM.