How do you use Multi-Meltas effectively?

travh20

OK, I have a few marines sitting around waiting to be built and one option I have is to make one of them a multi-melta gunner. Now, I have one multi-melta gunner already, but have never used him. It just seems when it is time to make a list I never consider him. I guess mainly because I have no experience using multi-meltas. But, with the addition of free multi-melta upgrades for 10 man tac squads in the new Codex I think I may need to rethink these weapons.

How do you use a multi-melta effectively? To me it always seemed a missile launcher was much more effective then the multi-melta. Of course I am pretty new so probably do not know all the tactical possibilities the multi-melta give you.

How do you use a multi-melta effectively? To me it always seemed a missile launcher was much more effective then the multi-melta. Of course I am pretty new so probably do not know all the tactical possibilities the multi-melta give you.

Well the Missile Launcher has the advantage of almost always being useful. Its like the Autocannon for IG, its might not be a terrific weapon but you'll always have a decent target to fire at. They're both compromise weapons, good but not great against alotta things.

In 5th Edition Krak Missiles lack the power to kill AV14 and are a bit diminished against AV13 so most heavy armor shooting is going to be difficult. The Frag Missile seems like it was improved with the new blast ruling but its still a Bolter shot with worse AP.

The Multi-Melta on the other hand is wonderful at busting Tanks and fairly decent at hurting MCs, but rather limited at doing anything else. The main limitation on it is the 24" range, but honestly thats not that bad. I wouldn't give it to Devastators, unless you gave them 4 and a Rhino to take up a position in the midfield.

I think they have much more use in Troop squads, as they tend to be in the middle of the board, making the shorter range a non-issue.