Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Formation question


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1
muzzyman1981

muzzyman1981

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 851 posts
When I finally start playing I was wondering if formations are really needed or can my models be put down in random order as long as they remain a cohesive unit? For instance does it matter if I put my WGL in front leading the pack, in the middle of the group, or in the rear? Does placement have any effect on if any model takes hits in front vs being in the rear of the unit?
For Russ and the All Father!!!


#2
Max_Dammit

Max_Dammit

    ++ EXCURSOR INDOMITUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 3,389 posts
It doesnt matter, most even used to put the leaders in the back and used a wolfpelt, but with 5th that doesnt matter any more

Assault has a pile in so he cant be singled out and he cant be snipped by being in front, you can take a hit on everybody else before giving him one.

So do as you like, But remember that IC's do get different treatment in CC, they have to charge first and can be singled out in CC
Sigismund replied.'"Are we going to scrap about it now. Argue which Legion is the toughest?
The answer always is, the Wolves of Fenris" Torgadon put in "because there clinically insane."
-1st captain of the imperial fists and Captain of the 2nd Company of the luna wolves.
"Horus Rising"
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#3
Wolf89

Wolf89

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,739 posts

So do as you like, But remember that IC's do get different treatment in CC, they have to charge first and can be singled out in CC


Unless using fenrisian wolves. :D

Max summed it up good, It really doesn't matter anymore, there's no more "oh, all I can see is your IC, so he'll take a las cannon to the face" or something along those lines. If anyone in your squad can be seen, the whole squad can be shot at.

If you roll with a WGBL, you can always give him an assault cannon, slap him in a grey hunter squad and let the good times roll.
-Before you post a question you have about space wolves check here first then check here second-


#4
muzzyman1981

muzzyman1981

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 851 posts
Alrighty that straightens up my questions nicely however your mention of a WGBL got me thinking about something else...in a pretty much different direction....I'm trying to understand this so hopefully you can help me out, up to 750pts I can only take ONE of the HQ choices?, i.e. if I take a Wolf Lord I can't take a Wolf Priest or Rune Priest?

I just thought of another question....if I take WGL can he take Termie armor with an Assault Cannon? if I have the points to afford it obviously...
For Russ and the All Father!!!


#5
Dark Bjoern

Dark Bjoern

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 3,596 posts

Alrighty that straightens up my questions nicely however your mention of a WGBL got me thinking about something else...in a pretty much different direction....I'm trying to understand this so hopefully you can help me out, up to 750pts I can only take ONE of the HQ choices?, i.e. if I take a Wolf Lord I can't take a Wolf Priest or Rune Priest?

I just thought of another question....if I take WGL can he take Termie armor with an Assault Cannon? if I have the points to afford it obviously...

No, in a 750 points list you can have only 1 HQ. So choose carefully.

Yes, A WGBL can have a TDA with AC. See the new SW FAQ.

2016-06-19_08.56.28_zps3jxgevkj.jpg2016-06-19_08.55.04_zpsl7ia3v3f.jpg


#6
muzzyman1981

muzzyman1981

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 851 posts
I dont mean the Wolf Guard Battle Leader....I mean the regular Wolf Guard Leader, can he wear TDA with an AC?
For Russ and the All Father!!!


#7
Wolf89

Wolf89

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,739 posts

I dont mean the Wolf Guard Battle Leader....I mean the regular Wolf Guard Leader, can he wear TDA with an AC?


No they cannot, only WGBL and Wolf guard Bodyguard.
-Before you post a question you have about space wolves check here first then check here second-


#8
muzzyman1981

muzzyman1981

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 851 posts
Alrighty thanks Wolf89 =D
For Russ and the All Father!!!


#9
deedark

deedark

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 408 posts
Only thing regarding formation I worry about is if my pack has a flamer I make sure he's up front

D.
Death smiles on those who do not know or understand the ways of the wolf

#10
DeffWolf

DeffWolf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 415 posts
pardon my ignorance max_dammit what does IC mean? also in the new 5th edition rules isn't it if you can see the model,that has to be the casualty? eg wgl?
How do you like my new shotgun!! BANG!!
I hope you have your wallet, because in hell - it helps if you pay in advance!!
That's a funny looking child...oh wait, it's a dog!!

Space Marine Recruitment:"They recruit them when they're twelve, thirteen, fourteen, with all that hate and that arrogance, just at the age you think you're bulletproof and nothing can kill you. Then they keep them like that..."

#11
Dark Bjoern

Dark Bjoern

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 3,596 posts
Independent Character.

2016-06-19_08.56.28_zps3jxgevkj.jpg2016-06-19_08.55.04_zpsl7ia3v3f.jpg


#12
DeffWolf

DeffWolf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 415 posts
thanks very much
How do you like my new shotgun!! BANG!!
I hope you have your wallet, because in hell - it helps if you pay in advance!!
That's a funny looking child...oh wait, it's a dog!!

Space Marine Recruitment:"They recruit them when they're twelve, thirteen, fourteen, with all that hate and that arrogance, just at the age you think you're bulletproof and nothing can kill you. Then they keep them like that..."

#13
Max_Dammit

Max_Dammit

    ++ EXCURSOR INDOMITUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 3,389 posts

pardon my ignorance max_dammit what does IC mean? also in the new 5th edition rules isn't it if you can see the model,that has to be the casualty? eg wgl?


No If he's part of a pack, you can start by giving everybody else one hit before he has to take one so if you have 10 BC's and a wolfpriest, and you take 10 hits, you can give one to each BC if you take 11 he wil also get one, if you get 12 hits, you can start over with the first BC (the one without the fist or PW of course)
Sigismund replied.'"Are we going to scrap about it now. Argue which Legion is the toughest?
The answer always is, the Wolves of Fenris" Torgadon put in "because there clinically insane."
-1st captain of the imperial fists and Captain of the 2nd Company of the luna wolves.
"Horus Rising"
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#14
Jonny Wolf

Jonny Wolf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,238 posts

Only thing regarding formation I worry about is if my pack has a flamer I make sure he's up front

D.


Yep! Me too...but I put my IC up there too just cuz they should lead from the front! ;)
For the Wolftime, praise Russ!

In Russ we trust, all others kiss my axe.



#15
OnlyInDeath

OnlyInDeath

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,088 posts

Only thing regarding formation I worry about is if my pack has a flamer I make sure he's up front

D.


Yep! Me too...but I put my IC up there too just cuz they should lead from the front! ;)


And the fact that since he's treated as a separate unit in CC, if he's not in front and in base to base contact with an enemy model, he wouldnt get to have any attacks. Get that IC up in the front. He cant be shot specifically as long as he's within 2" of a unit (as he would automatically join it) and that way if the unit gets charged, the IC would get his full attacks.
Click Here if you are in need of some reading material
QUOTE (Vassakov @ Feb 23 2009, 05:30 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
At the end of the day, we know who our true brothers are. We watch the halls of Russ, and remember our days of glory whilst persuing ever greater ones.
We are the Sons of Russ, for the All-Father and the Wolf King. From now, until the End Days and the Wolftime. We play by our rules, and noone elses.



#16
muzzyman1981

muzzyman1981

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 851 posts
Thats what I planned to do is have my WGL (Grey Hunters) and Wolf Priest (Blood Claws) up front just for the sake of having them lead from the front but as you said that the entire pack takes the fire I feel much more comfortable about it =)
For Russ and the All Father!!!


#17
OnlyInDeath

OnlyInDeath

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,088 posts
Well, it works like this as far as drawing fire: If an IC is off foot slogging it on his own, and he is not within 2" of a friendly infantry unit, than he can be targeted as normal (LOS et al). However, if he is within 2" of a friendly unit, he automatically joins that unit and as far as shooting is concerned, considered part of that unit (so you can protect him with wound allocation).
Click Here if you are in need of some reading material
QUOTE (Vassakov @ Feb 23 2009, 05:30 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
At the end of the day, we know who our true brothers are. We watch the halls of Russ, and remember our days of glory whilst persuing ever greater ones.
We are the Sons of Russ, for the All-Father and the Wolf King. From now, until the End Days and the Wolftime. We play by our rules, and noone elses.