Fixing Daemonhunters

Aidoneus

I've been playing Grey Knight-heavy daemonhunters for a couple years now, and I love them to death. No other army can match them for amazing backstory, stunning models, and sheer amount of awesome! Unfortunately, our codex is very old, and it's getting harder and harder to be competitive. Now I'm not one to sit here and whine, so instead, I decided to write my own update. Here it is!

This is meant to be a supplement to Codex: Daemonhunters. I believe that the basic format of the codex and the units therein is good, and only needs tweaks to bring it up to speed. I have gone page-by-page, and recorded any changes I deemed necessary to 1) bring the codex in line with current rules, and 2) beef the codex up to current power standards. The only two exceptions are two new Fast Attack choices I added, just because they've been in my head for a long time, and were too cool to not include.

This first post is going to be a Table of Contents, and I will divide my rules changes up into subsequent posts.

One last thing before I get started. These are all my own ideas. Many of them I have thought about for a while, but others just seemed like a good idea at the time. I am willing to discuss these changes with you, and even change my rules if I agree that your solutions are better. Just remember, I'm trying to keep this simple and also true to the spirit of Daemonhunters.

Table of Contents

1) Special Rules

2) Psychic Powers

3) The Armoury

4) Vehicle Upgrades

5) HQ

6) Elites

7) Troops

8) Transports

9) Fast Attack

10) Heavy Support

11) Special Characters

Relevant Links:

Updating GK Fast Attack (concluded in post #58 of that thread)

Updating DH Allies

New GK Army Lists

1000pt New GK Batrep vs. Chaos

Playtesting New Grey Knights

1) Special Rules

Page 8

Daemons: (added according to post #151)

All references in this codex to "daemons," "the daemonic," or any variety thereof refer to the following units:

Eldar: Avatar