In an effort to compile questions and answers that the new codex has come up with in a format that is easy to use, as well as being as complete in its answer as possible, I figured we should start up one like we have always had. This follows in the grand tradition that Depthcharge started years ago, that I repeated in the previous edition update, and would like to see maintained again.
Thanks to Oldenhaller for putting the questions together to begin with.
With regards to ommissions in the codex... until GW releases something to correct it, we use whats PRINTED IN THE CODEX. You have to assume thats how they intended it, and even if not.. what are the odds they are going to fix it? Slim to none I imagine.
Q - Is it an omission that Frost Blades cannot be used in TDA?
A - Unsure if it was an omission, but if they are not listed, until GW FAQ's or Erratas it, no FB for TDA.
Q - Do Thunderwolf mounts add to the base Strength as well as Toughness for the purpose of Thunderhammers/Power Fists
A - No. A thunderwolf mount is wargear. Reference p26 in the rulebook for how Instant Death works, and since any piece of wargear that ups toughness dont count for instant death. I know this makes no sense when you look at Canis/TWolf Cavalry, but those units do not have Thunderwolf Mounts as wargear. GW will need to errata it one way or the other.
Q - Do Fenrisian Wolves taken as wargear make the character count as part of a unit for the purposes of joining other units/assigning shooting damage
A - No. Unless it says that, its wargear. They are still IC's. The only reason IPs with servitors count as a unit, is because an IP is not an IC.
Q - Is your army allowed more than one Wolf Standard
A - With the RAW, yes. In previous editions, we were limited to a single Banner/Standard of each type, so this might be an oversight on their part. Model your units accordingly.
Q - Are you allowed to use the wolf banner to re-roll a 1 for the D3 charge bonus ragnar bestows on a unit?
A - Yes. If the dice rolls a "1" it can be rerolled. What counts as a "1" is up to your local group (some feel that 1/2 should be rerolled, as they 'count as' "1", others feel that only an actual roll of "1").
Q - Does the Wolf Standard affect any 1's rolled by independent characters who have joinded the Grey Hunters unit
A - "All models in that unit" - Yes, if an IC has joined that unit.
Q - Do Sagas count as wargear
A - They are in the wargear section (look down by the page number), so yes.
Q - Does the +1 from a Frostblade stack if you take more than one
A - Nothing would indiciate that this is the case.
Q - Is the Iron Priest an independent character
A - No, that is not listed in his profile.
Q - If the whole Wolf Guard Unit is split to become pack leaders when or is a kill point scored
A - Unclear. If the entire unit is split up, it might no longer count as a unit, and would not be worth a kill point at all. If even one member is left as a unit and not assigned out to other packs, when that one dies the kill point is awarded.
Q - Does Saga of the Iron Wolf's movement increase change the speed which the vehicle is moving at for the purposes of shooting
A - Vehicles shooting is based on what 'speed' they are moving (stationary, combat, cruising). The extra d3" has no bearing on this.
Q - Do attacks from Thunderwolf Cav using special weapons still count as rending
A - Yes. Thunderwolf Mounts are specific pieces of wargear that state that you may not use special weapon attacks as rending. Neither Thunderwolf Cavalry nor Canis possess the "Thunderwolf Mount" item of wargear, thus are not subject to that exclusion. It is likely to be FAQ'd by GW, as it really doesnt make sense, but until then, thats how it is played.
Q - Is the transport capacity of Drop Pods and Land Raiders correct at 10
A - If its in print in the codex, thats what we use..
Q - Is it an ommision that Skyclaws cannot have a Wolf Guard Pack Leader
A - Maybe, but until GW clarifies, they can not join skyclaw packs.
Q - Is it an ommision that Both Blood Claws and Swiftclaw Bike Packs cannot have MotW
A - Maybe. Unlikely though, as they are 'too young' for it to have shown itself yet. If they did, they would get tossed in a Skyclaw pack, which does have MotW available.
Q - Can wolf guard in terminator armor get meltabombs?
A - They list melta bombs as an option, and dont restrict it to power armor, so yes, Terminators can carry Melta Bombs with the way the codex is written.
Q - When adding a member of a Wolf Guard Pack to a Wolf Scout Pack as a squad leader, does that wolf guard member gain the abilities of the squad (Scout, Infiltrate, Move through Cover, Behind Enemy Lines)?
A - At this time, nothing would indicate that they do. Behind Enemy Lines specifies the unit, so I would be inclined to say that this would include the Wolf Guard, but there is room for argument. In previous editions Wolf Guards could do this as well, so there is precedent.
Q - Does Arjak's thrown thunderhammer 'Stun' his opponents as per thunderhammer CC attacks
A - Some feel that the wording implies that the ranged attack counts as a TH (thus stuns) others feel that since it is not in the profile of the ranged attack, it does not. Clarify locally.
Q - Can Arjak re-roll to hit rolls with his thrown hammer vs independent characters
A - Yes. He can reroll all failed to hits against ICs or Monstrous Creatures, it never specified that this is only in close combat.. so all failled to hits can be rerolled.
Q - Does Njal's Lord of the Tempest take affect upon a turn he doesn't start on the table
A - Unclear, though I would be inclined to say no, as usually any model off of the table can not affect the table.
Q - Can Logan Grimnar give a USR to a unit if they do not begin the turn on the table
A - The USR applies to Logan and any unit he is with. If at the beginning of the turn Logan is on the table, he will pick his USR, and it applies to him and any unit he joins.
Q - How can Lucas the Trickster have attacks targetted against him if he is not an independent character
A - Thats a good one. p39 of the BBB details allocating wounds, but his wargear applies to the to-hit roll. So, in effect, his pelt only applies when he is alone (thus, the rest of his pack is dead) or until GW FAQ's it.
Q - Does Arjak Rockfist have to assign all of his close combat attacks against independent characters if able
A - Yes, as detailed in his rules.
Q - If there are more than one independent character does he duel one of them or split his attacks
A - As long as they are directed to an IC, if possible, your good. You choose which IC.
Q - If fighting against another Space Wolf army does the Wolf Helm of Russ allow both armies to re-roll Ld checks
A - It is generally accepted that even if you are using the same 'army' your wargear only works for you. I am told that locator beacons only work for the Space Marine army that brought them, but have not read anything that confirms this.
Q - Do Logan Grimnar's Wolf Guard which count as troops also count as scoring units?
A - Yes they do - they count as troops in all respects.
Q - Does Bjorn get a saving throw against psychic shooting attacks from both his Wolf Tail Taalisman and his Ward of the Primarch save
A - Yes. First you roll to nullify, then you get invulnerable saves (if they apply)
Q - Why cant Lukas the Trickster use a jump pack?
A - Because fluff does not equal rules. Simply put, the option of giving him a jump pack does not exist... perhaps if his description allowed you to upgrade a bloodclaw OR skyclaw to Lukas.. but it doesnt.
Q - Can Bjorn the Fellhanded get a drop pod?
A - Unfortunately, no. He has no transport options listed in his entry. Bjorn will be walking wherever he goes.
Q - If I use Logan, take 5 packs of Grey Hunters, and 1 pack of 5 Wolf Guards that I break off to each of the Grey Hunter packs, have I used 5 Troop Choices or 6?
A - You have used 6. If you were not using Logan, you would have used 5 Troop and 1 Elite slots.
Q - Does Leaders of the Pack prevent Runepriests from having the same two psychic powers
A - Yes, its spelled out in "Leaders of the Pack".
Q - Does JotWW affect the Rune Priest
A - "Starting from the Rune Priest" (emphasis mine) would imply that the line doesnt actually touch him. That, and commonse sense. So no.
Q - Is JotWW the width of the Runepriest's base
A - No. Its a straight line. If you have to quibble over the width of the line, then move the line so there is no question. Lazer levels are good for this.
Q - Can shooting Psychic powers be used from a transport vehicle with firepoints
A - Yes, per BBB p.66 under Fire Points.
Q - Can JotWW be used from a vehicle as it touches a vehicle
A - You would use it from the fire point, and since JotWW doesnt affect vehicles, there should be no issues of it hurting your transport.
Q - Do AoE Psychic powers measure from the hull of a transport vehicle
A - BRB : "If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull."
Q - Does JotWW affect battlesuits as Infantry or Jump Infantry
A - Jetpacks (battlesuits) are Jump Infantry. p. 52 in BBB.
Q - Does JotWW have to have a target
A - It doesnt mention needing a target in the description, simply to draw a line and models touched by the line test.
Q - Does Murdous Hurricane affect only units deep striking within 24" of the rune priest using the power or all units listed as individual cases
A - Murderous Hurricane does not mention anything about deep striking. Maybe you are thinking of Tempest's Wrath? In that case, your question makes no sense, as the power is pretty clear.
Edited by WolfLordLars, 25 October 2009 - 03:52 AM.