Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

BA 5th Edition FAQ - VII


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
219 replies to this topic

#151
General Ravensong

General Ravensong

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 236 posts
  • Location:MKE
  • Faction: The Blight Crusade
Silly question that I haven't seen addressed elsewhere
I've seen everyone arguing for having Mephiston and DC Tycho as independent characters and GW seems to have rationalized that away... but what about our techmarines? Are they being shunned by the cooler, less nerdy kids at school? Or was this just an oversight? Because I was thinking of adding a techmarine to my army if only just for the fun games, but if he doesn't play well with others he may have to sit on the bench during recess.

QUOTE (Circus Nurgling)

I'm not sure exactly what they are, but they accept glue and paint it seems.

#152
JamesI

JamesI

    ++ OBITUS CAELESTIE ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 14,137 posts
  • Location:Albany NY
  • Faction: Angels Vermillion+TSons
Techmarines are not ICs. I don't think they are ICs in the regular marine dex either.

gallery_26_4045_8286.gif

 


#153
GlauG

GlauG

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 630 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Anyone know where to get an official GW reference sheet for Blood Angels (especially a corrected one)? The downloads section of the GW site doesn't appear to have one for BA, just everyone else.



Potentially dumb question, but what's wrong with the one in the 'dex that needs correcting?

Path_to_Redemption_07BP.jpggallery21629179224448zp.jpg

 


#154
Morticon

Morticon

    ++ FILIUS VINDICOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,232 posts
  • Location:Beijing, China
Whirlwinds and Vindies have typos.
Gamist, cheesy, beardy or broken; If Games Workshop put it in the book I'll gladly play against it, or with it. - Mort
"Use soft words and hard arguments." (Henry George Bohn [1796-1884].)

There is no harm in, on occasion, having disagreements. It's another thing entirely, however, to be a tool in conveying that disagreement.

"OP: The term used by players to describe a combination of yours they are personally unable to beat"

Collection of Battle Reports
Corbulo Tactica

#155
Zinge

Zinge

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 94 posts
Nope Vanilla SM techmarines are IC's but their servitors have the mindlock rule.

They cost more than devs and have a worse BS and Save.
....Bugger this for a game of soldiers!
Zinge Industries Selling Flexible ammo belts, power cables and Custom Bits for conversions

#156
igotsmeakabob!!

igotsmeakabob!!

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,628 posts
  • Location:Long Island, New York
  • Faction: Blood Angels
How do the majority of BA players use the Sanguine Sword? As a temporary turn-long power or as a permanent duration thing?
I've been using it as a temp power, but if everyone's using the permanent interpretation...
Don't put your trust in revolutions. They always come around again. That's why they're called revolutions. People die, and nothing changes.

How do they rise up?

#157
JamesI

JamesI

    ++ OBITUS CAELESTIE ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 14,137 posts
  • Location:Albany NY
  • Faction: Angels Vermillion+TSons
I use it as lasting the turn it was cast, and if you want it again you need to cast it again next turn. This is how all my opponents have seen it as well.

gallery_26_4045_8286.gif

 


#158
igotsmeakabob!!

igotsmeakabob!!

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,628 posts
  • Location:Long Island, New York
  • Faction: Blood Angels
Alright, that's how I've been using it as well. Thanks for weighing in, James.
Don't put your trust in revolutions. They always come around again. That's why they're called revolutions. People die, and nothing changes.

How do they rise up?

#159
JamesI

JamesI

    ++ OBITUS CAELESTIE ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 14,137 posts
  • Location:Albany NY
  • Faction: Angels Vermillion+TSons
There is a good RAW argument for it being permanent, but I can't imagine GW would make such an ability permanent.

gallery_26_4045_8286.gif

 


#160
Khorneeq

Khorneeq

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Faction: Baal's Revenge
Hi,
quick question about Magna-Grapple.
Can it drag vehicle to base contact with Dreadnought?
It says that: "...vehicle stop if it comes to within 1" of difficult terrain, impassable terrain, another vehicle ..."
Does the word another (bolded) include Dreadnought?

quintessence of WH40K

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wex1Bn2Xodk

#161
Morticon

Morticon

    ++ FILIUS VINDICOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,232 posts
  • Location:Beijing, China

Hi,
quick question about Magna-Grapple.
Can it drag vehicle to base contact with Dreadnought?
It says that: "...vehicle stop if it comes to within 1" of difficult terrain, impassable terrain, another vehicle ..."
Does the word another (bolded) include Dreadnought?


Yes! Theres nothing in the rules to suggest that it would be dragged into combat and nothing allowing us to break the regular assault rules to get into combat.
Gamist, cheesy, beardy or broken; If Games Workshop put it in the book I'll gladly play against it, or with it. - Mort
"Use soft words and hard arguments." (Henry George Bohn [1796-1884].)

There is no harm in, on occasion, having disagreements. It's another thing entirely, however, to be a tool in conveying that disagreement.

"OP: The term used by players to describe a combination of yours they are personally unable to beat"

Collection of Battle Reports
Corbulo Tactica

#162
Nordaris

Nordaris

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13 posts
  • Location:Moscow
  • Faction: Flesh Tearers
Please? Can you tell me, what does two-handed weapon means in description of Glaive Encarmine?

#163
Black_Sky

Black_Sky

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 484 posts
  • Location:Denmark
  • Faction: Blood Angels
Two handed means you can never get an additional attack for wielding a second CCWeapon or pistol.
-Your signature goes here-

#164
Nordaris

Nordaris

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13 posts
  • Location:Moscow
  • Faction: Flesh Tearers
Thats, bad, very bad) And what means "not scoring" unit in description of Black Rage..

#165
JamesI

JamesI

    ++ OBITUS CAELESTIE ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 14,137 posts
  • Location:Albany NY
  • Faction: Angels Vermillion+TSons
It means not a scoring unit (can never control an objective, but can contest them).

gallery_26_4045_8286.gif

 


#166
Nordaris

Nordaris

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13 posts
  • Location:Moscow
  • Faction: Flesh Tearers
Ах дадада!!! In Russian this means "Oh yesyeses))) Thank you)

#167
Dakez

Dakez

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Chadds Ford, PA
  • Faction: Blood Angels, Second Company
Can someone explain to me the movement rules on Baal Predators. I was under the impression they could move 18 inches, or 12 and fire 1 wep. I now suspect i may be wrong in that regard, but I wanted to know for sure.
Life is temporary, Duty is eternal.

#168
JamesI

JamesI

    ++ OBITUS CAELESTIE ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 14,137 posts
  • Location:Albany NY
  • Faction: Angels Vermillion+TSons
Baal Preds like all rhino based BA vehicles are fast. So 18 inch movement, or 12 and fire 1 main weapon (and all defensive) or move 6 and fire everything.

gallery_26_4045_8286.gif

 


#169
vonny

vonny

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 412 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Faction: Lamenters
unlike others though they have a scout move - a free move before the first turn. That may confuse you a bit

#170
Dakez

Dakez

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Chadds Ford, PA
  • Faction: Blood Angels, Second Company
that's exactly what i needed! thanks!
Life is temporary, Duty is eternal.

#171
soots

soots

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 162 posts
quick question
can mephiston recast a power IF he failed it before
ie: rolled 11 or 12 for sanguine sword..can he recast it or no?
i checked the rule book and it only says psychic shooting attacks cant be recast, and mephiston can cast up to 3 powers per player turn
and would you consider s.sword a shooting attack?
any help would be great

#172
JamesI

JamesI

    ++ OBITUS CAELESTIE ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 14,137 posts
  • Location:Albany NY
  • Faction: Angels Vermillion+TSons
Based on that, I would say he can. One of the FAQs specifically says you can cast the same power more than once (assuming it hasn't been removed in a recent FAQ changes).

Edited by JamesI, 05 February 2011 - 03:41 PM.

gallery_26_4045_8286.gif

 


#173
soots

soots

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 162 posts
based on the new B.A faqs..theres is not mention about mephiston's casting rules.. or anything refering to sanguine sword
i google the same question, and people refered to the csm faqs..how you can only cast a psychic shooting attack once..thats it
but all of mephs powers arent shooting
i wish that GW would be more specific on thier rules..especially when it comes to a 250pt character that can change the game in a round of combat

#174
Morticon

Morticon

    ++ FILIUS VINDICOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,232 posts
  • Location:Beijing, China

based on the new B.A faqs..theres is not mention about mephiston's casting rules.. or anything refering to sanguine sword
i google the same question, and people refered to the csm faqs..how you can only cast a psychic shooting attack once..thats it
but all of mephs powers arent shooting
i wish that GW would be more specific on thier rules..especially when it comes to a 250pt character that can change the game in a round of combat


Soots, theres probably no mention because I think its generally accepted that thats the way it is. Tzeentch or daemon princes are the same with warp time
Gamist, cheesy, beardy or broken; If Games Workshop put it in the book I'll gladly play against it, or with it. - Mort
"Use soft words and hard arguments." (Henry George Bohn [1796-1884].)

There is no harm in, on occasion, having disagreements. It's another thing entirely, however, to be a tool in conveying that disagreement.

"OP: The term used by players to describe a combination of yours they are personally unable to beat"

Collection of Battle Reports
Corbulo Tactica

#175
soots

soots

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 162 posts
i asked the guys over at my lgs...we debated for like 20 min or so
but we came to the conclusion that he can cast any 3 power multiple times if he :
1) failed it the first time
2) didnt cast anything before or just 1 power...ie wings -> sword(failed)..cast sword again




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users