Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Corbulo, The Far-Seeing Eye


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
17 replies to this topic

#1
Warprat

Warprat

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 875 posts
Does Corbulo allow a player re-roll of the deployment roll-off (to see who deploys first,) using The Far-Seeing Eye? And, if the re-roll is applicable, can it be used to re-roll the Standard Mission or Deployment Type chart?


Thanks!

Warprat ;)

#2
thade

thade

    ++ VELOX CLAMATOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 6,679 posts
Seems to me that it does. The writing of the rule is "any die roll you have made" and the only time you can't is if Brother Corbulo has been slain. It says nothing about him being on or off the table, or when during the game you can make the check. So, I'd say yes.
QUOTE. In the book called "Core Rules". Page 14. Top Left Inset. In the chapter called "General Principles."
"Your responsibility isn't just to follow the rules, it's also to add your own ideas, drama and creativity to the game. Much of the appeal of this game lies in the freedom and open-endedness that this allows; it is in the spirit that the rules have been written."

QUOTE. Silent Requiem
"About my list; it is weak. But it fits me, and that counts for a lot more than any amount of mathammer."

#3
Grey Mage

Grey Mage

    ++ ARCTOS CAELIFERUM ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 18,665 posts
I would say yes, because the roll for deployment is the first part of the game. I would say NO however to rerolling the scenario, as that is not part of the game.
QUOTE (Wolf Guard Dan @ Dec 28 2009, 06:06 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
When in doubt- Grey Mage.
QUOTE (thade @ Jun 7 2011, 09:43 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also, Hammernators are for pansies. There, I said it.

#4
Warprat

Warprat

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 875 posts

I would say yes, because the roll for deployment is the first part of the game. I would say NO however to rerolling the scenario, as that is not part of the game.


Hmmm, but what's interesting is that the roll for deployment happens before even one figure has been placed...

Edited by Warprat, 03 May 2010 - 04:57 AM.


#5
Freakiq

Freakiq

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,672 posts
I doubt it.

Rulebook page 86: Organizing a battle:
"1 choose forces"
"2 prepare the battlefield"
"3 select mission"
"4 deploy forces"
"5 start the game"

As the game hasn't started when forces are deployed you can't use The Far-Seeing Eye.

#6
Grey Mage

Grey Mage

    ++ ARCTOS CAELIFERUM ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 18,665 posts
Yet it specifies in the rule that you can use it to seize the iniative.
QUOTE (Wolf Guard Dan @ Dec 28 2009, 06:06 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
When in doubt- Grey Mage.
QUOTE (thade @ Jun 7 2011, 09:43 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also, Hammernators are for pansies. There, I said it.

#7
Freakiq

Freakiq

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,672 posts

Yet it specifies in the rule that you can use it to seize the iniative.


It can be used to seize the initiative just because the rule explicitly mentions you can.

If it's before the game has started and not specified by the rule then you can't do it.

#8
thade

thade

    ++ VELOX CLAMATOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 6,679 posts
I fear that the logical next step here is a philosophical-class debate about "When the game has truly begun." <_< Talk it out with your usual opponent(s)/club and see how they want to treat it, for your safest bet.

Now brace for the discussion. <3

Corbulo's rule doesn't seem to be mentioning Seize the Init as an exception...but more an inclusion with the other things it can logically do. I think this is one of those cases where GW didn't think people would look at their leaky rulebook with the Legal Eye and just roll with things. I don't see an allowed reroll for the deployment roll-off being that broken. Are there other models that allow such a thing? How many points do they cost and what else do they allow?
QUOTE. In the book called "Core Rules". Page 14. Top Left Inset. In the chapter called "General Principles."
"Your responsibility isn't just to follow the rules, it's also to add your own ideas, drama and creativity to the game. Much of the appeal of this game lies in the freedom and open-endedness that this allows; it is in the spirit that the rules have been written."

QUOTE. Silent Requiem
"About my list; it is weak. But it fits me, and that counts for a lot more than any amount of mathammer."

#9
Grey Mage

Grey Mage

    ++ ARCTOS CAELIFERUM ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 18,665 posts
His name is Bjorn, hes a Vendread, and hes not quite as expensive as a Landraider with MM and Extra Armor.
QUOTE (Wolf Guard Dan @ Dec 28 2009, 06:06 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
When in doubt- Grey Mage.
QUOTE (thade @ Jun 7 2011, 09:43 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also, Hammernators are for pansies. There, I said it.

#10
Leonaides

Leonaides

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5,809 posts
So there is a hypothetical precedent. Though to my mind, using Corbulo in this way is a bit of a waste - I'd much rather save that re-roll for the save I need another chance to make, or the last-ditch melta-shot I need to do serious damage...

"most gamers (especially ones who frequent forums) are idiots of one form or another" Great Crusade 08

LPC 2009 LPC 2010  LPC 2011 LPC 2012 LPC 2013 ETL VII LPC 20 
gallery_19254_8784_1046.gifgallery_19254_8784_3201.gif gallery_19254_8784_3710.gifgallery_19254_8523_59626.jpggallery_48988_15465_15162.png


#11
Warprat

Warprat

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 875 posts

His name is Bjorn, hes a Vendread, and hes not quite as expensive as a Landraider with MM and Extra Armor.


And The Emperor's Tarot provides a pre deployment die shift during roll-off for the price of a Rhino...

#12
thade

thade

    ++ VELOX CLAMATOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 6,679 posts
Yea, it's not unheard of by any means.
QUOTE. In the book called "Core Rules". Page 14. Top Left Inset. In the chapter called "General Principles."
"Your responsibility isn't just to follow the rules, it's also to add your own ideas, drama and creativity to the game. Much of the appeal of this game lies in the freedom and open-endedness that this allows; it is in the spirit that the rules have been written."

QUOTE. Silent Requiem
"About my list; it is weak. But it fits me, and that counts for a lot more than any amount of mathammer."

#13
Warprat

Warprat

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 875 posts

So there is a hypothetical precedent. Though to my mind, using Corbulo in this way is a bit of a waste - I'd much rather save that re-roll for the save I need another chance to make, or the last-ditch melta-shot I need to do serious damage...


I think it depends on the roll you have to beat. If you are rolling for deployment and your opponent rolls a 2 and you roll a 1, use the re-roll. If he rolls a 5, think about using it on sieze the initiative instead. If you then don't use it on either of those, save it for a clutch moment as suggested. A reserve or outflank roll would be excellent.

Although I feel a roll for senario would be within the spirit of the rule, and within RAW. I also feel it could be a tad too powerful. But, of course that also depends on the nature of the armies chosen for both sides, and their relation to each other.

Warprat ;)

#14
Freakiq

Freakiq

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,672 posts
There's also the problem that it isn't the Blood Angel player's roll and thus can't be affected by Corbulo.

#15
thade

thade

    ++ VELOX CLAMATOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 6,679 posts

There's also the problem that it isn't the Blood Angel player's roll and thus can't be affected by Corbulo.


Wait. You don't roll your own die for your roll-off to see who chooses who goes first?
QUOTE. In the book called "Core Rules". Page 14. Top Left Inset. In the chapter called "General Principles."
"Your responsibility isn't just to follow the rules, it's also to add your own ideas, drama and creativity to the game. Much of the appeal of this game lies in the freedom and open-endedness that this allows; it is in the spirit that the rules have been written."

QUOTE. Silent Requiem
"About my list; it is weak. But it fits me, and that counts for a lot more than any amount of mathammer."

#16
Grey Mage

Grey Mage

    ++ ARCTOS CAELIFERUM ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 18,665 posts
You do, but not for the scenario roll....
QUOTE (Wolf Guard Dan @ Dec 28 2009, 06:06 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
When in doubt- Grey Mage.
QUOTE (thade @ Jun 7 2011, 09:43 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also, Hammernators are for pansies. There, I said it.

#17
thade

thade

    ++ VELOX CLAMATOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI CEDO ++
  • 6,679 posts

You do, but not for the scenario roll....


Sorry, thought this was in reference to the OP.
QUOTE. In the book called "Core Rules". Page 14. Top Left Inset. In the chapter called "General Principles."
"Your responsibility isn't just to follow the rules, it's also to add your own ideas, drama and creativity to the game. Much of the appeal of this game lies in the freedom and open-endedness that this allows; it is in the spirit that the rules have been written."

QUOTE. Silent Requiem
"About my list; it is weak. But it fits me, and that counts for a lot more than any amount of mathammer."

#18
Mezkh

Mezkh

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 685 posts
Codex says: Corbulo allows you a single reroll once per game.

Rulebook page 86: Organizing a battle:
"1 choose forces"
"2 prepare the battlefield"
"3 select mission"
"4 deploy forces"
"5 start the game"


As the game hasn't started when forces are deployed you can't use The Far-Seeing Eye.


Surely that solves it. Also, doesn't seizing the initiative come after step 5 anyway?