The True Astartes

Stoneface

Dear Nephew,

Have you ever seen an Astartes in the flesh? They are nothing like the picts, no gun ho “go get em’ boys” and “avenge me lads”! That is all nonsense. I have seen them as they truly are. They are terrifying: and it is not their strength, their size, and impenetrable armour or devastating weapons which scare me, but their inhumanity. In battle they do not talk, only bark streams of relevant tactical data, ++Cassius. Sweep qu.3411 yes?++ and ++acknowledged. Julius Sweep qu.3411 yes, engage with sabot++. They analyze the battlefield and judge how best to kill the enemy. As an Imperial Officer, I am under no illusion that men under fire aren’t poets, they don’t philosophise about life, or the enemy, they just try to stay alive and try to kill. But even guardsmen shout, scream, swear and even, when danger is past, laugh. The Adeptus Astartes do no such thing; they are killers plain and simple.