40k role play advice.

evolved23

So coming up shortly a few of my friends and myself are organising the beginnings of a deathwatch session. I have never played a pen and paper rpg and by virtue of the fact that I suggested it I am now honoured with the role of GM. A bit of background myself and one other player have both got 40k and fantasy armies so we typically know the lore etc and he has volunteered his services in keeping me on track etc.

However the two other players are both women who have no knowledge of the wonders of the 41st millenium and only one has played and rpg. The scenario we have selected is to be the extraction from the back of the dw book and already it seems to be getting a bit complex as now we have to throw in sister rules for the ladies.

So seeing as though this is my first time can anyone provide me with some sage words of wisdom about this bearing in mind that this may very well be the gateway game that will open up a universe(s) of possibilities?

Thanks.

Something you should always keep in mind is to avoid saying "no" to your players without a very good reason. When they perform an action that you feel might blow up in their faces, give them warning of the possible consequences and let them decide for themselves what to do. Likewise, retconning their previous feats for the sake of plot continuity is something to avoid; don't become too attached to a particular villain they end up slaying prematurely. Once I ran into all of these in the same session, and then some... My will to play vanished before the end.