Dark Heresy & Black Crusade

Lodovico

I'm new to RPG's and I am looking to sink my teeth into a few games atm. A friend of mine is easing me into RPG's via a game called Shadowrun, however I have a greater affinity for the 40k universe and have had my eye on Dark Heresy and Black Crusade for some time. I am wondering if anyone has any experience with either and what they might have to say about either game. I am also going to say I am leaning more heavily toward Dark Heresy than Black Crusade.

I also tend to spend most of my time alone so if anyone has anything to say about solo play I'd greatly appreciate that, thank you.

Ok... As a GM I'd definitely recommend you try to play with fun in mind (obviously). I can't help with the solo play or Black Crusade but I can make suggestions on Dark Heresy. Don't be afraid to suggest hare-brained plans and plots - these tend to be far FAR more entertaining than deadly, seriously roleplaying and thinking up proper plans. Of course, this kinda requires you to have a GM who'll allow this but I don't think it's much of an ask. When it comes to finding out things (environment, NPC's, GMPC's, the plot) - it pays to ask questions. Granted the GM might have to wing it but it helps you build a picture of the game. The clearer the picture, the more memorable events will be. Last piece of advice - DON'T FORGET TO USE YOUR FATE POINTS! :)

I've only played one game of Black Crusade just yet, while I have a lot of Dark Heresy under the belt. They're similar in some ways and completely different in others.

The similarity I see is in the mixture of power levels; the Dark Heresy acolytes are very "low power," kind of like the minor cultists in Black Crusade, while the enemies the GM can introduce in Dark Heresy might get up to the level of the Chaos Marines in Black Crusade.