The funny thing about the PFG is that now, a vehicle within 3" of a PFG can profit from its effect whereas a vehicle with a PFG inside cant
Where do you see that? It says when embarked it only effects the models embarked.
He's saying that if the PFG bearer is standing between four land raiders in a parking lot, all of them get the full effect of the 4+ invulnerable save, but as soon as he steps inside one, all of them, including the one he's riding in, lose the save. There's a relatively simple fix for this...put your PFG on a bike behind the land raiders, instead of inside! You heard it here first!
Okay, damage assessment. I'll have to put my PFG-bearing techie on a bike. After dropping the single servitor (bought from leftover points), It's a points hike of 10...and an interesting modeling project! He'll also be able to repair either of the two tanks that he's following around, but only on a 5+, not the previous 4+. Also, he's at more risk than before, especially from deepstrikers. Countervaling, late-game, his bike makes him an excellent objective-contesting unit. And with T5 and a 2+/4++ save, he's not the most fragile model on the battlefield, single wound be damned. A libby might be worthwhile for the second wound, though, if I can't find the ten points and am forced to drop my sixth knight to make this happen.
The problem with the servator beforehand is that it was a separate unit, so deploying the Techmarine with Belial, a unit of Terminators and a Servitor in a Land Raider is against the rules
I too immediately thought of putting it on a bike, the only reason I don't like it is, as you said, its more vulnerable, especially to drop pods and such. Though if those players want to spend a turn and try to take out my Techmarine instead of my Land Raiders/Terminators, more power to them. I'll just be in their face with the things they ignored as vengence
While I'm on this, how does this make sense? A Standard gets to buff around the Land Raider but a PFG doesn't? Units can't even see the standard while it is inside a Land Raider, at least the PFG makes sense because its just a field around the bearer. It isn't being waved to boost moral and such. Ugh.
As to the other stuff, I kind of saw the SoD being only Bolters. Even though I don't play Ravenwing I'm glad they finally can have a 5 man command squad. And I also admit defeat in the DWA does count towards the 50%. So a tip of the hat to everyone with that.
Now, what the did you do to my Deathwing Sergeants? We've been able to have them have LC/TH & SS since, oh you know, forever. And now because you can't proofread we can't? I'm getting a little tired of your GW. Luckily most of my rank and file Terminators are magnetized, but come on. This is the one part of the FAQ that really ticks me off to no end. Since 6th edition dropped I have ALWAYS used my Sergeants with TH & SS, so they could soak up the challenge for my HQs if I really wanted them to not sit out a combat. But now instead of having a remote chance in some of these challenges, they have no chance. Hopefully we won't have to wait months for this to get changed back.
Typical GW, they fix some things and manage to break things that didn't need fixing. . . .