From the Watch to Dorn - Leinmann's stripping blog

Beachymike123

greetings fellow fraters and sororitas. the aim of this thread is to show my journey as i strip my marines. i share this experience so others may learn from my mistakes and 'knowledge' but so others who are more experienced can give me criticism and tips, thus helping me and others who read this thread.

before i forget the tools i used for this were:

toothbrushes, antiseptic disinfectant (the cheap one, local brand from lidl, but can be found anywhere), large tub, small tubs. solution i used was 25:75 disinfectant/water in that order (although this increased to more 35:65 disinfectant/water after the 'communal bath pic). also anail brush at one point, but this is because i was desperate. also a pair of rubber gloves is essential as the smell will stick to your hands (and i'm a chef so i can't afford to have that lingering smell). 

process i have used is as follows:

1:make up solution, soak minis for 24-48 hours

2: scrub minis with toothbrushes

3: resoak if required

4: once taken down to desired layer, scrub in a soapy solution (washing up liquid and lukewarm water is what i used)

5: using an old tea-towel dry the mini to remove any excess gak. 

well, as i said a while ago, i intended to strip my space marine minis from their DIY colours to become Crimson Fists. i love the chapter and to be fair, its another string to my bow to learn how to strip minis back so as not to lose the detail. i could just paint over them, but then detail would b e lost, the new scheme wouldn't be as great, etc etc. so i decided to strip my marines for a couple of reasons. 1 - the cost of starting up a new army is simply too high and 2 - i can start from (almost) new. no repainting detail, trims, eye lenses etc. 

so without further ado, i shall present to you from where i started to where i am now. 

my DIY scheme before stripping