New wolf brother

Chaplain Otho

Hail brothes

I've been playing 40k about 5 years but have been in the hobby since the launch of Necromunda. I've been playing Tyranids as my main army recently but I'm just getting into Space wolves. Definitely very cool but I also like the idea of rock hard characters and tough independent units.

I have some models about 30 grey hunters, 10 bloodclaws and some terminators. I also have some raven guard who will be standing in as auxiliary wolves until I have bought some more models.

I read a lot of tactics and want to sue an alpha strike army that will drop in kill the enemy and return to the feasting hall for ale and cake. I'm fed up with all this going second and jump troops onto objectives games that the xenos employ.

Questions though.  

1. I want to run drop pods are dreadnoughts worth taking?

2. Is it worth taking a drop pod for my long fangs to help get other units into the fray quicker by dropping the pod empty in the second wave.

3.Is a wolf priest with preferred enemy useful for a drop pod list or will a wolf standard do the same job for cheaper,

4. Is MotW worth taking on drop pod wolves?

5. how many combi plasma, combi melta on wolf guard do I need to take to take down a wraithknights/Riptide/Centurion squad/Kairos,

6. Do any special characters work especially well with a drop pod list.  

Thanks brothers,

Greetings brother, and welcome to The Fang.

If it's an Alpha Strike army  you're after, you could certainly do worse than the Space Wolves. Here's my 2 cents on your questions;

1. I want to run drop pods are dreadnoughts worth taking?

On their own, not really. In an all-pod list, go for it. Most people will tell you Dreadnoughts perform better as a static firebase--which they certainly do well, but with our Wolf Tooth Necklace wargear they fare a bit better in assault than your run-of-the-mill Dread; and dropping 3 of them in your opponents face turn one creates a problem they HAVE to deal with immediately.