New GK player, with questions...

Rybnick

I've just recently started a GK army (just 2 weeks ago actually), because I've always liked the models. Now obviously I knew the new dex was coming (even though some of the changes were huge surprises), but post the leaked codex entries I'm having a bear of a time creating lists (something I suspect I am not alone in). One of my major issues is knowing what and how many melee weapons is typical for a unit to make us of.

Obviously it will vary depending on what you want a unit to accomplish, but is there a decent rule of thumb for melee weapon upgrades (like 20 points/squad for melee upgrades)? Here are my thoughts on the upgrades below:

• NF Swords - default choice is default, nice to have an ap3 force weapon at hand. 
  • NF Halberds - nice because you won't necessarily have to rely on hammer hand, ultimately saving you warp charges for other areas (since no psychic pilots reduced the gross amount we generate some). Having base S5 for 2 points seems like a deal most marine army's would appreciate; adding in ap3 just makes it sweeter. I see having a couple in most squads as a viable options. 
  • NF Falchions - Huge bummer that these lost the +1inv save from last edition but still have some utility in providing the +1A bonus. I see them being the most useful on units who will be assaulting (obviously) or that already have a respectable number of attacks. Namely Purifiers, Terminators and Interceptors, but at 4ppm  I think we'll have to limit the numbers of them we use, in a 10 man squad I see 4 Falchions as the max I'd invest in. 
  • NF Stave - no more safety in CC, but adamantium is a fair trade right... seems like a decent upgrade though for 5ppm, this and hammer hand bumps you up to S8 at initiative which could be handy for nobs, crisis suits, etc. concussive is icing for dreads vehicles. I think it's going to be a less used upgrade for the cost (plus you only get 1 per box, lame).