The way of the sororitas

Zeratul29

Hello all! I'm new to sisters but not 40k in general. I currently play GK, inquisition, the occasional space marines. I want to start a sisters army. I was hoping for all you vets to share your insights on what units to take and what kind of tactics to employ.

What are their strengths and weaknesses and how you should play a sisters army. Barely anyone in my area plays sisters so I want to see what they can do. I've heard they're an awesome army.

Give me your thoughts and thanks!

Hi Zeratul!

Sisters are equally blessed and cursed by a limited codex; whilst we have very few unit choices, this also means that it is really hard to go wrong when it comes to choosing the units for your army. Because you will only have one troops choice option that you will have to take, I would say it's best to become confident in a strong core of battle sisters before worrying about the other stuff. Whether that means you prefer multiple small units in Immolators, larger squads in Rhinos or big blobs on foot is up to you.

Units wise our best anti tank option is Dominions with Meltaguns, whilst anything elsecan basically be covered by troops; though there are many other, strong, viable units in the codex. I would recommend looking at priests and anything that gives you some speed.

Our biggest weaknesses are lack of range, lack of variety in units and lack of speed. Other weaknesses such as I3 can be offset pretty easily within the codex itself.

Our biggest strengths are our short range firepower, our close combat potential and the simple fact that as you said, no one plays Sisters of Battle, and so everyone thinks they're bad.

Hi Naminé!