Epher's Guardians of the Covenant - Vows Complete!

Epher

I'm just getting into the hobby.  I have been lurking on the site for a while.  For my first army, I decided to go with the Dark Angels.  I am fan of their fluff and the Deathwing.  I have decided to go with Gaurdians of the Covenant because of the robes and their colors.  Metal power armour and red robes?  You can't go wrong with that.  I managed to hit pay dirt at Christmas and scored a Dark Vengeance set.  I have also managed to procure more DA armies from DV. 

I have started painting now have a good start on a few tactical squads.  Here's what my first units look like.  I have yet to highlight and I am missing some details but I would appreciate all your comments, querries, critisism and complaints (Did I miss any?).

There are two tactical squads each with 1 veteran sargeant, 5 tac marines and 1 plasma cannon.  In the foreground are the company master and librarian.  All the models are un-modified.  I am using the DA emblem on the pauldrons.  I know it's not propper for the sub-chapter but I will save the crossed swords for the elites.

IMG_0428.JPG

Here is one of the veteran sargeants.  He has been slightly modified, as in his head is turned a little.  You can have a better view of the marines.

IMG_0430.JPG

Welcome to another Guardians player! Looks like a great start - I like that you've chosen one of the more complicated company markings on the kneepad - I chose the 3rd company, as the simplest possible.

The colour scheme - and the relative ease of painting it - is one of the things that drew me to the army. Metal power armour is uncomplicated to paint (a dark silver base coat, Nuln Oil wash, and a light drybrush) and the red atop looks very striking.

My Guardians have more of a blood/crimson red robes - I really like the more mauve tone you've chosen as a base.

Keep the updates coming!

Welcome to the Rock Epher. Your models look great so keep at it.