Metallic/Anodized effect on base armour colour ?

Hey people !

So, first let me thank you a lot for the tips in this thread. I've been mostly secretly stalking there gathering information on how to better pain and you guys' advices are awesome smile.png

Now, on to the real meat ! I am a very untalented painter, but I am recently starting an Alpha Legion Warband to which I would love to give a Pre Heresy colour scheme, much like this one :

abae4de88245592e4acc04ece1c5bfe0.jpg

Please forget the Brass colour on the helmet and backpacjk. The idea is to have a shiny/metallic/anodized blue colour on the Ceramite plating which I am very fond of smile.png

However, my first tests mixing Boltgun Metal and a standard base colour proved very disappointed (did I tell you I was a bad painter ? tongue.png ), so I'd love to get your tricks on how to pull such an effect off smile.png

The idea was to have that metallic blue, then highlight it with a few green colours to give it that iridescent tone. So far I'm quite happy with 2 highlight layers of different colours, but the base metallic blue gives me headaches :/

______

Cheers in advance ! I will name models after the people who helped me out, with any name they want as long as it's Alpharius biggrin.png

The key (and one I only learned recently) is base coat with a metallic (in your case Boltgun Metal) then apply a few wash/glaze coats (say Drakenhof Nightshade or Guilliman Blue). Gives a rich color while allowing the metal to show through. It's a technique I've been using on my recent 30K Salamanders.

gallery_80588_10505_136861.jpg

Man, thanks, this is an ingenious technique smile.png ! Definitely going to try it :)

The effect I'm wanting to achieve is what your model's cermaite legs look like, obviously in bluer liveries.

Out of curiosity, how many layers of glaze did you use for that color ?