Tips for creating battle damage?

Hey guys,

So I'm working on converting some plastic Marines into a Legion of the Damned Squad. I picked up some skull helmets for them from Anvil Industries and my plan for them is that I want to make and paint them to look like spectral/ghost Marines, rather than 'regular' Legion of The Damned (my colour scheme is predominantly blue and pink, so I thought black and fiery Marines would look a bit too jarring). I'm drawing some inspiration from an old White Dwarf 'Chapter Approved' Nemesis Kill Team article where they basically have some ghostly greenish/blue Marines, that is the style I'm trying to emulate. Those were just bog standard Marines though, I want to do a bit of converting on mine so they fit the bill a little better, hence the skull heads.

This brings me to my topic; I want my Ghost Marines to look roughed up and battered, but I don't want to go overboard as I'm a complete novice when it comes to stuff that isn't just straight up kitbashing/hand swaps and don't want to get out of my depth too quickly. That said, I'm not really sure how to go about modelling battle damage, the way I'll be painting them means I won't be able to rely on the paint work to convey damage, it'll need to be physically modelled. One of the main things I was thinking was to cleave a big cross/ X shape where each Marine's Chapter icon would normally be, but besides that I was thinking bullet holes and general signs of hack damage.

How might I go about achieving something like that? I have a couple of pairs of Citadel clippers, an ancient junior hacksaw and a Citadel hobby drill to work with, should I just start hacking and drilling with those? Is that likely to do a convincing job of it, and is there anything in particular I can do with what I've got?

Cheers!

I did a tutorial on making barricades from leftover blocks of Forge World resin and in there I explained a bit about doing battle damage, if you'd like to take a look: