The way you're wording it suggests that there is Immobile (Drop Pod type) as well, and that is simply not the case, and only plays into my argument that there is a big difference when talking about immobile units (the only type we've seen is Artillery Type), and units with the immobile special rule (of which there are two versions in the Legiones book alone).
On the one side, we have UNIT TYPE: Artillery (Immobile), and there is a rule specific to that type that you are referring to.
Immobile (Artillery Type)
An Immobile Artillery piece cannot be moved after it has been deployed except by the use of a specialised vehicle, and ignores any effect which forces it to move. This only affects the platform - not any crew who are subject to all normal Artillery rules. When called upon to fall back, the crew must leave their guns behind and fall back; the platforms are then removed as casualties.
Note that an Immobile unit may still have Scout or Deep Strike special rules as these reflect redeployment or deployment during battle, rather than game movement. Only if it has the Deep Strike special rule may an Immobile unit be held in reserve.
So note that this rule establishes the existence of an immobile unit type, in this case artillery. Mechanicum tarrantulas have the same rule, and yes, they can deep strike.
On the other side, we have the drop pod, which has a very specific unit type that has absolutely nothing to do with artillery of any sort. It does have its own special rule.
Immobile - Once it has been deployed a Drop Pod cannot move, and counts as a vehicle that has suffered an irreparable Immobilised result
Note again, this rule is specific to the drop pod, and the drop pod alone, and makes no definition of unit type. In fact, you couldn't apply this Immobile rule to the artillery, because they have a T/W profile so how could they count as vehicles?
So now I hope we've established that there is an immobile unit type, and then there are units with an immobile special rule, and these aren't mutually inclusive scenarios.
We also have from book 6, that introduces two different wordings:
An army making use of this Rite of War may not take a Fortifications Detachment or any units with the Immobile or Slow and purposeful special rules.
The army may not include any Immobile units.
The first wording is very specific that it includes any unit that has the Immobile special rule, of which we have established there are two types. Both the Drop Pod and Artillery (Immobile) have their own version of the immobile rule, and thus are not eligible. The second wording specifies Immobile units, and actually lets you take more drop pods than you normally could, which should leave no doubt in anyone's mind that a pod is not an Immobile unit, and is in fact exactly what its profile states. UNIT TYPE: Vehicle (open-topped, transport).
Another rite in the book actually uses the second wording, and that's the Drop Assault Vanguard. I guess they wouldn't utilize drop pods either. This one is more of a fluff argument, but by this point I hope I've hammered all the nails I need to into the rules argument.
Originally I had pictures of all the rules and had it looking all fancy, but they ended up too big and it would probably get me in trouble anyway.
Edited by Terminus, 16 March 2016 - 01:55 AM.