Jag's Crusade: Relapse

JAG Templar

Hi all,

I'm completely new to any form of miniature gaming, modelling etc. but I've taken a shine to the aesthetics and lore of the Black Templars, and started to build a crusade. I also like that there are no squad markings so there is more flexibility when deciding on a squad's loadout with regard to special and heavy weapons.

Already painted include:

1 x EC (the stock standard Finecast one)

Another EC based on a Forgeworld Imperial Fist commander (this was a very expensive way of doing things)

1 x Marshall (shield and sword)

1 x Marshall (shield and thunder hammer)

5 x Honour Guard and Banner

27 'shooty' Initiates with various special and heavy weapons (2x Melta gun, 1 plasma gun, 2 x power fist, 1 x missile launcher)

3 Sword Brethren (2 combi melta and lightening claw, 1 combi plasma and power sword)

10 stabby initiates

5 Sword Brethren TDA, Thunder hammer and SS

1 Las Razorback (bought it to experiment with air brush so that I could move on to LRC with confidence)

1 LRC

3 Dev Centurians, Grav cannon and missiles

5 drop pods

1 Storm Raven

2 ironclads

1 land speeder

2 StormTalons

Current WIPs include:

Saint Celestine!

Culexus Assassin

Already purchased:

5 vanguard vets

Proposed purchases:

Imperial Knight????

I'll photograph and post the painted stuff over the next few days, and although I've already stolen a lot of ideas from this forum I've got a plenty of questions:

1. Is it legit to create an Ironclad out of the Forgeworld Venerable Dread model just because he looks cool provided that the weapons are correct?

2. Can I model my stabby Initiates on 34mm bases and still use some of my old Sword Brethren on 25mm bases to lead the squad?

3. Can I make dreadnought drop pods by leaving out the centre console, instead of buying the ugly (and horrifically over priced) Forgeworld ones?

Pictures to follow.

Cheers

Edited by JAG Templar

To answer your questions: