The Knights Revenant - A development through melodrama.

Sir Perfluous

It's been a while since I wrote the IA for my DIY chapter, the pseudo-Arthurian Blood Angels successors the Knights Revenant, which you can read here if you feel like it, need some help as to what the hell I am going to be talking about in a bit and/or are particularly susceptible to shameless plugs. I've been musing on them quite a bit since then, and suddenly realised that there would be no better way to develop them, their character and story then by writing about them. It's been rather a fun exercise - by writing I have been forced to consider their names, rituals and beliefs in a way that I didn't when I just wrote about them in an Index Astartes article. I thought I would share some of these short stories because I'm rather proud of them. I've never written anything like this before, and though they may not be great prose, I'm happy with how they are turning out.

The stories aren't going to focus on any particular characters throughout a series, rather, they'll show various characters and aspects of the Chapter's beliefs from different points in their history. This is here for my benefit as much as anyone else; this way, if I don't get them done, people will be able to call me out on it!

Without further ado, I present Part One of my chapter exploration, in which a young man prepares for initiation into the Knights through a night of contemplation and meditation. Prepare for melodrama and unnecessary adjectives ahead.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

REVERIE