Magnet problems

So, I just started playing with magnets yesterday. I was putting it off for fear of messing up and decided to just bite the bullet and go for it.

I messed something up.

So, I was really careful to put the magnets in right so they would not repel each other. Imagine my surprise when they repelled each other. At first I just assumed I had messed up but then after thinking more I decided to test that, and found that the magnets somehow repel all other magnets now! They worked perfectly before installing them, but now either pole of the unused magnets repels them. How did this happen?

I used 1/16" magnets, hand drilled the holes, used Krazy Glue to affix them. I don't know if any of that is relevant.

Here's something to think about.  If you put one magnet in the torso for the left arm and then put another in the right arm, you might find that the second magnet flips if it's close enough to the other.  You need to check when you put the first one in, that the second one is placed the correct way around so as not to cause any repelling if you like.  When you start adding a torso to leg magnet (not sure why you would if you already did the arms), you might find the wrong way up conflicts with the two arm magnets.

I often found the issue when putting in the second arm magnet inside the torso, flips etc.  I setup a little system and perma mark one side as I do each one so when it goes in I can see the marking is correct.

My tip with magnets is always attach a long stack of them when mounting them into the hole, it prevents them flipping around and causing issues.

As noted above, multiple magnets in close proximity can cause an issue with the overall field but never managed to set it up so that the force from one over-rides another further away.

I know this thread is a little onld... but, another good trick is to only use magnets on one side of the joint.