Techmarine Dreadnought

Marcelis

Hi folks,

This year for Dreadtober I converted and painted this Dark Angels Deathwatch Techmarine Dreadnought (even the name is OTT!). I used to have a Dark Angels Techmarine in a Deathwatch RPG campaign. We played a big 40K game after the campaign ended and my character was eventually killed by a Scythed Hierodule, of all things. So this is a homage to my Techmarine, who may not have been quite as dead as first thought msn-wink.gif

gallery_11037_12584_395414.jpg

gallery_11037_12584_1206742.jpg

gallery_11037_12584_308070.jpg

The servo-arms were made from Ork Killa Kan bits. After cutting/filing off all of the heathen spikes and rubbish, they look far more... legitimate.

gallery_11037_12584_807964.jpg

For the base I used some rusty old barrels and a laser cut fern. The weathering was applied using stippling; I have never tried rusted iron before, so any advice would be welcome.

gallery_11037_12584_59376.jpg

Cheers!

I actually really like this idea!

A dread who supports other dreads with repairs on the fly biggrin.png

I figured that a Dreadnought would find it impossible to stand up if it got knocked over, so I wanted the claw to be big enough to help lift another dreadnought. Something that size could make some great last minute fortifications too msn-wink.gif

Ha! What a great idea, well executed too. Ever since the FW Chaplain Dread I liked the idea of a full Dreadnought Command section.

Thanks mate! I had the same idea and this Dreadnought is my sixth addition to the section:

gallery_11037_12584_579933.jpg

I really like this. Nice concept well executed and some nice paint work to boot. All in all, highly impressive. biggrin.png

Tried something similar myself a while ago and also went with the ironclad. Thought about killa kan bits, but went for sentinel legs in the end.