3D modeling and printing...

Shadow Captain Vyper

So I really want to get some custom Storm Shields for my upcoming builds with Vanguard Vets. My issue is I have zero 3d modeling experience, and I want to get something printed up on a site like Shapeways. My questions for you all is as follows:

1) Have you seen anyone on a 40k site offering to do commission/custom 3d modeling? I have seen it with Decals on our own site here, and I figure with the abundance of Shapeways shoulder pads, finding someone who is willing to do this shouldn't be too hard. Furthermore, if you know of multiple folks that are doing it, do you have one you would recommend?

2) My crappy paint mockup is below, I have two different designs in mind. I want a shield that is sleek, with minimal ornamentation, but uses the RG symbol as the overall shape and style. I also want the shield to have a lot of hard angles to convey that "stealth" feel. Minimalistic and modern. (Some examples include the F-117A Nighthawk fighter, and meshed with the Corax/Dark Fury aesthetic that Forgeworld has put out recently). If you have any feedback on the designs below, I would love to hear it!

gallery_16835_12893_99273.jpg

Half shield is definitely my favourite.

Would be great to add a cut out bolter slit on the straight edge to allow firing while advancing behind the shield's.

I'd definitely pick some up for a zone mortals boarding team.

Cheers,

Valaas

How about like this? Apologies again for my MSPaint skills, really have never been a graphic design type of person. I really don't care for the way I cut this one at the top from beak to pinion.

gallery_16835_12893_31342.jpg

Half-shield is a great idea.

The full shield doesn't appeal to me due to the shape. Nothing wrong with having it in the shape of the chapter mind, but it's a lot wider at the bottom than the top. Which is the opposite of what a shield should be.

Long time lurker and fan of the spire here who has finally left the shadows so be gentle.