"The Unspeaking" - a Word Bearers army log.

SafetyTurtle

So after having had a bunch of Forgeworld 30k models laying around for years I've finally decided on a legion (yes, it did take me that long) and thought, like so many others, that I would make a log of it's growth from start to finish.
Should warn you though, I'm a slow painter so don't expect weekly updates or anything of that sort.

I've decided to do an army based on the Unspeaking, because I really like Zardu (daemons!), love their chapter icon and thought the concept of them was pretty cool...though it will of course have some elements of the Serrated Sun in there (need them Gal Vorbak after all!).

I've started putting some of the models together, not gluing all of it though, to test out some poses etc and currently the force looks like this:

http://i1291.photobucket.com/albums/b548/Safety_Turtle/17359170_10155144787369583_2570310281423528137_o_zpsljan17sk.jpg

Not incredibly exciting, I know but I hope you'll bear with me.
Still have a bit more to put together and then I'll start adding some prayer scrolls etc to the models and converting a few of them as well.
I'll be going for a bit of a weathered look on them, bases will be muddy with small patches of grass and left over equipment, skulls, helmets etc to give a sort of "battlefield" feel to them.

Also did up my first 1500pts list.
I know the standard is 2000+ but I wanted to start out smaller which also explains why I went with a more elite force as I want to get to gaming sooner rather than later.

Here's the list:

Word Bearers 1500pts

1 Zardu Layak:                                     175pts

2 Blade Slaves:                                     100pts

1 Chaplain:                                            155pts
  Tainted weapon, power fist,
  Artificer armour, refractor 
  shield, burning lore.

5 Cataphractii:                                       285pts
  5 Pair of lightning claws,
  dark channeling, grenade harness.