Miniature Tools for a Noob?

Qai

I'm getting ready to assemble and paint my first miniature. I'm also a complete noob when it comes to painting in general. The neckbeards at my local GW store are eager to help me out with the actual process of what to do and how. However, mind you they are also peddling GW-authentic accessories (snips, brushes, etc.). I'm OK with sticking to the GW paint, primer and such, but I'm kind of hesitating on the cost of some of the tools from GW that I can quite literally walk one block down to Walmart and grab for a fraction of the cost. Can you guys give me some feedback as to what I can just get elsewhere without messing up my miniatures and use the savings from that to get more bits instead?

I would suggest getting a hobby knife, wire cutters, and a small set of hobby files. A quick search on the Walmart site says that all three can be found relatively cheaply, although I'd suggest buying some better quality tools as they will definitely be worthwhile in the long run. I'm not that familiar with paintbrushes myself as I just use the GW ones so hopefully someone else can give suggestions about those. If you want a more in depth write up about tools you should check out this thread by Subtle Discord. Also welcome to the hobby!

Oh that link is perfect! Thank you!

I'm definitely not going to pick up the cheapest things on the shelf at Walmart, but GW being GW I know their stuff is overpriced. I'll definitely keep that link as a reference and get what's appropriate.

Really looking forward to see this hobby evolve. For years I've enjoyed the 40K universe through everything but the miniatures. Time to dive in!

Welcome to the hobby!  You're about to embark and a very enjoyable and rewarding pastime.

GW's new tools are ridiculously priced.  $23 for a knife or a saw?  $12.50 for tweezers?  This is insane.

A couple of useful blog articles on the subject can be found at Sage Brush as well as Hand Cannon Online.