Imperator Commilitones WIP

Hello. A few weeks ago I decided to get back into 40k after about three years away. So on a whim I got some Blood Angels. Given that I already had rather large Space Wolves and Black Templar forces in varying stages of WIP, and neatly boxed away too, I figured with the new BA minis that I should start a public thread to part document the work, and part to keep me motivated. I expect this to be slow going, I both work and go to university full-time.

While I'm not new to the hobby, there are some new things I intend to try. The first is undercoating with gesso, which I've never used before but am intrigued by, and using more advanced techniques than a simple basecoat and edge highlight combo. I've never used layering techniques, washes, glazing, or anything more than simple basecoating before.

To start, here's the Angels, all assembled. I don't much care to paint each model's individual pieces separately and then glue it together later. Also, sorry for the guerrilla photography. I only have smart phone camera at present, and no good set up for taking pictures.

First is the chaplain:

Blood Angels Jump Chaplain

Next here is the first squad, with flamer and heavy flamer special weapons.

Blood Angels Squad 1

Second Squad, also with flamer and heavy flamer special weapons. I'm awfully fond of flame-throwing weapons....

Blood Angels Squad 2

And finally the Baal class Predator, with heavy flamers and flamestorm cannon, of course.

Baal Predator

Next is a few pictures of the state of my other marines, which I will go through more thoroughly in future. In particular is this box of various marines and vehicles that I had several years ago tried to strip, but gave up when the simple green did next to nothing. They have now been dumped in a bin of super clean, so I will document both what all was in the box, as well as the results.

Box o' Marines