Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Movement and positioning

tactics movement positioning

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

KurganFr

KurganFr

+FRATER DOMUS+

• + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 58 posts
  • Chapter Name: Ultramarines

Hello,

I have been playing 40K and other games for many years, but one thing I am consistently terrible at is movement and positioning. I understand the general principles but somehow never manage to make them work, whether it be with my Ultramarines, my X-Wing models or my Battlemechs. No amount of watching battle reports is helping. Here are some examples:

Principle: deploy your heavy support in positions from which they have a commanding view of the battlefield, i.e. where they have lots of big juicy targets that they can shoot without moving.

What happens: my heavy support units get obliterated on Turn 1 by the big juicy units they were designed to kill.

Alternative principle: deploy your heavy support in positions where they have a single lane of fire. This will provide them with protection and lock down an area of the battlefield.

What happens: the enemy never goes anywhere near my heavy support units, which therefore do nothing of note during the battle.

Principle: focus fire on a given priority target until it is dead.

What happens: once a priority target is damaged, my opponent moves it out of the way (intervening units, cover, etc.) so I cannot finish it off. Later in the battle, it comes back out and causes me lots of issues.

Principle: make good use of cover.