A happy Sunday morning to you all!

I've been working on my Blood Ravens for a few weeks, and I wanted to get a few blog posts up before I start sharing it more widely. I aim to post about every 7 days with some of my progress.

I've recently returned to the hobby after a 3.5 year absence (Life TM), and after much deliberation I opted for the Blood Ravens. I just really like their colour scheme and background lore. I'm a researcher by trade so I appreciate their quest for lost knowledge, and their never-ending search for their origins is something you can really have fun with if you're into playing narratively.

What I plan to do is make a post on blogspot, and then make a TL;DR here with a link to the post.

Here is my first post:

These violent delights have violent ends...

This will probably irk the purists out there, but apart from always playing a Librarian I am not going to limit my army lists or collection to their representation in the computer games. My reasoning is that I've limited myself in the past and while it makes for some very individual(ish) armies, this time I just want to enjoy the hobby and build an army with units that I think are cool and fun to paint.

Here's the first purchase:

20170511_135931.jpg

My goal is to construct a tabletop-ready army by the time 8th Edition comes out. I'll be back soon to post about my first painting efforts, and the technique I've chosen for painting Blood Ravens.

The fires of the Pyrae burn strong

This post covered my undercoating process, and the "heatwave" that we had near the end of May here in the UK.

I went through the process of painting my first five marines.

This is the guys in the final stages. I still need to paint the guns and some of the details, but as I am trying to get ready for some table-top fun by the 17th June I will go back and add these when the army is up and running. The colours for the lenses and chest emblems are shown below.

20170515_173458.jpg

My list of paints: