Brush Lifespan

Hi guys

I started painting around half a year ago on a regular basis. Depending on available time i normally paint every second or third day for 1-4 hours. I have the problem, that my brushes tend to get bad pretty fast. normally i only use pretty fine brushes, so that i can get all the detail. I wash them out regularily and also use colour-thinner to wash them out when I am finished. I get the feeling that especially GW-Metallics kill the brushes fast.

My last Brush lasted for approximately 2 month. Is that normal?
Am I doing anything wrong?

Any recommendations, in order to increase brush lifespan??

I would like to be able to handle my brushes better before I get my hands on more expensive ones. =D

Thank you for any Ideas, what to do better.

Edited by Maschinenpriester

Just from experience - smaller brushes die quicker. Only use fine-detail brushes for things like eyes or shading lenses on bionics - nearly everything else can be done with a Base\Standard Brush (generally). But moving on from that...

- Don't let the paint get further up than halfway along the bristles.  It can seep into the ferrule, dry and cause the bristles to spread apart.
- Wash your brush often.  Very often.  Moment paint starts drying up as you're painting into the bristles, that can cause problems, too.
- Treat them gently.  If you have to press the paint into a recess hard or do some drybrushing - use an old brush.
- When you're done, put the cover back on and put them tip end down into your pot - this will let any remaining water drip off, rather than stay in the ferrule.

Someone will probably tell me I'm wrong, but thats how I try to keep my brushes living longer.

Yeah... that seems to be the problem. The bristles spread over time. And I accidentally put the brush to deep into the pot (When using GW colours - Vallejo droppers seem to prevent that to happen).

Thank you very much!

Especially the last tip seems to be something I never thought about! =)