Role of Primaris Marines in RG lists

Woahdude89

Hey all! I'm new to the hobby and in love with the RG. Love their lore, combat philosophy, and aesthetic. My brother and I (he's also new) split a dark imperium box and I was wondering how you all see the new marines fitting into your lists?

I know without chapter tactics it might be too early to make a definitive call but I wanted to see if any of you vets had some thoughts!

Thank you!

I ignore them for now until they get a codex and I can better judge if I like their fluff.

What we know so far I don’t like at all, but maybe GW manages to convince me with good ideas at a later point.

There are no tactical considerations behind, as you see.

Hello and welcome to the Ravenspire!

I'm embracing them but not lovingly, if that makes sense.  There are two ways I am looking at them: the story and the game. 

The story: they are brand new yet Primaris are shown to have RG colors.  It's clear RG have them in my mind and it makes some sense as the RG have typically had slower-than-normal recruitment rates due to their gene-seed issue.  Thus, getting the support is likely welcomed.

The game: they are not required or needed.  I bought the boxed set and have even started working on a Lieutenant, but that's all I'm working on for now because I have A LOT of older stuff to finish too.  Right now, I dod not feel compelled to add them to my lists.

Having said that, I have yet to play with them.  I do know they'll die to Graviton weapons just like regular marines :lol:

Purely game-wise, I think some primaris will fit into the concept. Shrike dropping in with assault squads means quite a bit of CC punch, back it up with rerolling-to-hit heavy bolters makes sense. Bolter primaris are essentially sternguard without fancy upgrades, fitting into the concept of Raptors, while not exactly being more points-efficient than the alternatives.