Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Taking out the Big Boys


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#26
HenricusTyranicus

HenricusTyranicus

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Chapter Name: Black Templars and Sergeants

Yeah, regardless of modifers, nat ones fail. 


Inspirational 40k quotes page I run on Facebook. Feel free to like and send suggestions.

 

https://www.facebook...86926/timeline/


#27
Halfpint100

Halfpint100

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Chapter Name: Imperial Guard

Taken from the FAQ:

 

Q: When making a hit roll with a supercharged plasma weapon, do you determine whether a ‘1’ was rolled before or after applying re-rolls and modifiers?

 

A: You apply all re-rolls and modifiers first. For example, if, after re-rolls and modifiers, the final result is then a 1 (or counts as a 1, as explained above), then the supercharged plasma weapon injures or kills the firer.

 

Q: If a rule or ability grants a re-roll on, for example, ‘hit rolls of 1’ (such as a Space Marine Captain’s Rites of Battle ability) does that effect trigger before or after applying modifiers to the hit rolls? A: Re-rolls always happen before modifiers, so the re-roll ability is triggered before applying modifiers. For example, let’s imagine a Space Marine (Ballistic Skill 3+) moves and fires a heavy bolter (a Heavy 3 weapon) whilst within range of a Space Marine Captain’s Rites of Battle ability (allowing you to re-roll hit rolls of 1). The hit dice are rolled and result in a 1, 2 and 5. Re-rolls are applied before modifiers. In this example a single dice is re-rolled because of the Captain’s ability, this time resulting in a 3. Modifiers are applied after re-rolls. In this example there is a -1 modifier to the hit rolls for moving and firing a Heavy weapon. That means that the post-re-roll scores of 2, 3 and 5 are modified to 1, 2 and 4. Comparing the final results to the model’s Ballistic Skill, only one shot hits the target.

 

 

So yes. According to this, pask and the command salamander does equal all dice are 2+ 



#28
Withershadow

Withershadow

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,530 posts

For shooting, wounding and armor saves, "A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply."

 

So a command tank can prevent overheats, but those attacks still miss.  And if you move, or are firing at Raven Guard/Night Lords/Alpha Legion/Fliers, rolls of 1 will be modified to 2 and then back down to 1, the sponsons will both overheat and miss.


Edited by Withershadow, 14 August 2017 - 10:22 PM.


#29
Halfpint100

Halfpint100

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 158 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Chapter Name: Imperial Guard
Hmmmmm. Two conflicting rules/ faq.... fun! I think we will have to wait till another FAQ comes out to tell us

#30
Beams

Beams

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 618 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Chapter Name: Order of Our Martyred Lady
Natural Ones always fail regardless of modifiers, but they don't count as modified ones for overheating because of modifiers. It's not conflicting, but a difference in criteria.

Edited by Beams, 15 August 2017 - 03:54 PM.


#31
NatBrannigan

NatBrannigan

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 397 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Whenever I ask a question we always seem to come back to discussing this overheat rule! I guess that's what happens when the answer to everything in the game is "overheated plasma"...

 

I thought it was:

 

Re-rolls taken before any modifiers applied

Any extra effects resolved after modifiers applied

Natural 1's always fail (but not for any extra dice related effects like exploding plasma)



#32
Withershadow

Withershadow

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,530 posts
Right.

#33
NatBrannigan

NatBrannigan

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 397 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York

Ooooooh yeah! Glad to know I've been doing that right.

 

well it looks like Plasma is everyone's go to again. I'm assuming that the price of Plasma is going to be going up come the codex because it's become a staple of every list.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users