The Unwinding Coil - Acquisition 042119

Honda

First a story...

I started playing 40K back in 3rd Edition. Some of you will remember the heady days of the Eye of Terror campaign and other marvels.

It was a very interesting time in the hobby and I'm glad I was there.

My first army was Alpha Legion. I had a few ideas that spawned off of things like the original Index Astartes article, my general academic interest in counter-insurgency and terrorism, plus stories and modeling.

For the Eye of Terror campaign, I actually registered as an Ultramarine player, realizing that I wasn't as good as most of our group at the time, so any losses I experienced would weigh against the Imperium and further the goals of the Legion.

I had a very fluffy mix of models, mostly built to explore a concept I had and have some fun. As you might expect, I got killed a lot on the table top, but in my mind that was Ok because in my own way, I was furthering my goal.

That seemed very Legion-ish to me.

Times changed, I wanted to do different things in the hobby and work with different armies, so I sold my AL and moved on.

But that initial "coil" of the Legion always stayed with me. I was always curious about them and their concept. As the fluff built up around them, especially from a HH perspective, the coil loosened a little, bit by bit.

Then a couple of what I will call pivotal events took place.

1. I read the most excellent book, "Praetorian of Dorn". Mind blowing ideas from a Legion perspective. I keep reading it over and over.

2. I saw Migsula's own rendition of the Legion. From a modeling perspective, this was everything I ever wanted to see in a Legion force. I was totally smitten.

I'll put the link here, but be careful. You could be bitten by the serpent.

https://ironsleet.com/2017/06/30/defenders-of-the-realm-alpha-legion/

The coil began to unwind.