Opinions on using "40k" armour?

To cut a long story short, I've been looking at starting a new army with 8th ed coming out. And despite initial flirtation with CSM (Iron Warriors) I've come full circle back to wanting to get HH era Alpha Legion - with then the potential to field them in 40K probably under one of the two Space Marines codexs if required. 

The problem with this beautiful endeavour is that I am a poor recently graduated student with next to no disposable income. We know this hobby is expensive but that's okay. The problem is when it comes to Forge World and 30K era armour it is insanely expensive. So obviously I'm looking at ways to try and keep the cost of starting a HH army down.

The obvious way to do this is to stock up on Tactical Marine box sets and throw in bits of 30K resin bits on a couple of men in each squad. But I am unsure if this is an accepted practice because obviously 40K armour and 30K armour do have some noticeable differences.

Another alternative I've been postulating is using the Primaris kits, with their heavier greaves looking a bit more HH like. And then I can run them as "true-scale" Legionnaries, and it would have the added benefit of making Alpharius (when the model is eventually released) much more similar in height to his "sons", like in the fluff.

Additionally then I can run with the fun idea of an Alpha Legion Primaris chapter in 40K as I've been toying around with for a while.

Anyway I'm gonna stop rambling

TLDR: Whats the consensus on using 40K marines for a 30K army?

Have you looked into getting the plastic GW HH Box Sets? https://www.games-workshop.com/en-CA/Betrayal-at-Calth-and-Burning-of-Prospero-Bundle

Both get you a boatload of marines in Mk IV and Mk III armour as well as some Cataphractii and Tartaros. You can also find the contents partitioned out for cheaper online.

I would also say Alpha legion had access to mark 6 armour which is common in 40K