Audio Books

Knockagh

Has anyone any idea why BL audio books are so darn expensive. I listen to a lot of podcasts and books throughout the day. I'm a farmer and so have some tasks each day were I can plug in earphones and enjoy some easy listening while I destroy my back and body toiling. I've bought a few BL audios way back when they came out at first and enjoyed them and I keep looking at the books but they are prohibitively expensive. I buy a lot of BL books and I know they are more expensive than most and I'm not gripping about that it's a niche hobby and i want our beloved authors rewarded well and the company to thrive but the audios are eye watering. I listened to American Gods last week it cost £7.99, that would get me an hour of BL. It doesn't add up at all. Are any of them good enough to warrant the money? Am I missing out? I'm going to buy one to give it go, any advice?

Looking at Audible, I cannot help but think that BL would rock the charts with new HH releases there. I hope that bringing their books to Kindle at long last, after years of not wanting to do it because it'd relinquish some control to Amazon, they'll realize that the benefits in reach far outweigh the negatives in profit cuts. Audible would be very healthy in the long run and grow their audience a great deal.