Tactical and Dev Squad load outs

sallyoz

Brothers with the new edition now with us , what are your feelings toward the special and heavy weapons in Tac squads and the heavy in Devs. I currently run a Dev squad with 2mm and 2hb. My tacs are usually THE 3rd Edition classic pg/mm combo and either mg/flamer and lc. Am I on the right track any advice would be grateful.:cool.:

I started playing 40k at the tail end of 7th but I've been play for about a year and a half so you can take my advice with a grain of salt.

Tactical Squads-

Sgt: Combi-Melta, Chainsword

3x Bolters

1x Flamer

Dev Sqd-

2x Missile Launcher

2x Lascannon

I run my tac squads like this because I can move them relatively easy, I have anti armor and anti infantry in just combat squads.

I run my Devs in that manner because I want my weapons to have the same range as well as the maximum anti-armor effect on the board. Lascannon and Missile Launchers are the same price so why not take them. You have plenty of anti infantry/horde fire from you Tac Sqds and any other supporting element i.e. Razorbacks.

I currently run my tactical squads as bare naked 5 man squads, with the Sgt having a chainsword. If I have a spare few points then the sgt will have a storm bolter and chainsword.

My Devastators when I ran them had 4 missile launchers and a cherub in a 5 man squad.

But I swapped out the dev's in my current list for 3 dev centurions with heavy bolters and hurricane bolters. 

I hope this helps.

My (only) Devestator squad runs twin ML/LC, mainly for that anti-tank (now anti monster) firepower that I seem to lack at range, especially did in earlier editions.

My tactical squads generally run some combinaiton of flamer/meltagun + MM/HB. Just largely sticking to Salamanders + built them when young so wasn't building powerful lists.