Mixed-models AM armies and the new codex

Feral_80

I am pretty sure I am not the only one with this 'problem'. Since I have been collecting AM for many years now, I have plenty of different regiments in my army.

I have a couple of Krieg squads/HQ (which normally I run as vanilla AM), a squad of metal Catachans, a squad of Vostroyans, a squad of Steel Legion, some converted vets, and quite some plastic Cadians in various roles. My vehicles also are painted in 2 different schemes, a desertic/ash world yellow/blue grey camo scheme and a jungle green scheme. 

I adopted and always liked the 'old' concept of the Guard often fighting as a mix of different regiments, assembled from the survivors of larger armies. On a more practical purpose, it also allowed me to a) diversify my models and painting, and b ) rapidly keep track of my squads and easily see them as separate on the battlefield. The latter is convenient to both me and my opponents, who may not always be familiar with the many options that we can field.

Now, since the new codex will rather push in the opposite direction, i.e. thematic, regimental armies, I find myself in a bit of trouble. I don't like the idea of mixing more than 2 regiments/detachments (and I wouldn't have enough models for most of the regiments I am fielding anyway), and I am not intentioned to buy new stuff until we get plastic infantry (i.e. never or almost, atm). I'll probably end up mixing all my infantry in one detachment and all the tanks in another one, likely from two different <regiments>. 

I am sure others find themselves in a similar situation. Will you just pick a doctrine you like and use all your different units as count-as that <regiment>? Or will you really start rebuilding your army?

As much as I am excited by the new codex, I feel sad that the Guard is probably losing some of its aesthetic variety.