My Path to Tournaments

Panda_Saurus_Rex

Hello all, I recently made a decision to get into tournaments and thought that I would share that path with you. I got into this game because of how it played (I am a reluctant painter at best) and highly enjoy the tactical aspect of it. The one problem: due to time, money, and other hobbies I will only ever play the army I first started, Blood Angels.

I started BA at the beginning of 7th edition when they still had a 5th edition codex. They were ok and I had fun playing them. Then the power creep of 7th started and I just could not win a game to save my life. I made the decision that when 8th dropped, I would start really trying to get serious about the game and seeing what I could do to work within the constraints of my army. 

I had been playing a list in the first few months of 8th that made use of several units of scouts when Frontline Gaming dropped an article with some tips for Blood Angels. Once I realized I had most of the models already I put a list together based off of FLG’s advice and put the word out to some friends of mine that I wanted to start practicing for tournaments. My local meta is pretty tough and I know several really good players who were willing to help me prep.   

The list I’ve been running is:

Battalion 1 – Blood Angels

Capt – jump pack, TH/SS 
Librarian – jump pack, plasma pistol, force sword 

Scout Squad (X5) – camo cloak, missile launcher

Death Company (X15) – jump packs, TH, power sword 
Bolt pistol & chainsword (X13)

Assault Squad (X5) – jump packs, meltagun, meltabomb 
Assault Squad (X5) – jump packs, meltagun 

Battalion 2 – Blood Angels

Capt – jump pack, plasma pistol, relic blade 
Sanguinary Priest – jump pack 

Scout Squad (X5) – combat knife 
Tac Squad (X5) – boltguns

Devastator Squad (X5) – missile launchers, armor cherub 
Devastator Squad (X10) – lascannons, armor cherub 

TOTAL 2000

Practice Game 1
Vs: Astra Militarum
Warzone Atlanta mission – Aggressive Recon