That is far too cheesy for me and its clearly an oversight.
The way I see it, if the unit is not on the board (ie in a transport) and cannot be the target of anything, then its not in 'play' at that moment and thus cannot score.
There is nothing that says they do score, but there is a rule that says that units in a building score 3" around it.
Now transports are scoring, but the troop choice inside them only has objective secured once they disembark.
I am pretty sure it is how its meant to be played as that is how we played in 7th and shall continue to do so unless specified otherwise.
7th edition doesn't really matter, because it was always different from the Age of Darkness. You could argue for the FAQ clarifications, but is that even available on any of GW's sites anymore?
The only vehicles that can score in the Age of Darkness are Predators in the Rite that makes them Troops. Dedicated transports are also troops, but are specifically excluded from scoring.
Well technically now HH was 6th ed, and was then ported to 7th ed.
But yes sorry you are correct.
So as there is no rule that specifically states that units embarked in a transport can score while embarked in a transport, we shall play at as thus unless something comes up to say otherwise.
Edited by M@verik115, 23 January 2018 - 09:45 AM.