Is Eshin Grey too dark for washes?

TiguriusX

I'm a newbie to hobby side and just painting up my first few guys.

I really like the dark I get from Eshin Grey but I tried some washes (Agrax Earthshade and Nuln Oil) and was not too impressed.

This photo is an agrax earthshade wash

med_gallery_49686_13890_152811.jpg

My other test models of lighter grey (Dawnstone) look amazing with a wash of Agrax Earthshade.

med_gallery_49686_13890_162343.jpg

Is there a suggestion for washing darker colors like Eshin Grey or is that just a limitation from the dark color I am using?

I'd do pin washing instead of an overall coat and do it with a nicely diluted black ink / black paint with flow improver added. This way your Eshin Grey does not get stained towards the black too much and you still get the added depth.

If you choose to pinwash like Kastor Krieg suggested, a good trick is to spray the figure with gloss varnish which causes capillary action to pull the ink/paint into the lines of the model. A coat of matte afterwards will then dull the gloss and allow you to paint the figure again.

The reason the washes aren't looking especially good over the Eshin Grey is that the colour of the Nuln Oil wash and the colour you're washing are too close, and the Agrax Earthshade simply isn't strong enough to give you any contrast. Whilst Nuln Oil is a nominally "black" wash, it isn't actually as dark as you think when going over dark colours. Similarly, Eshin Grey is a grey, but a very dark one that's really intended for little details or as a gentle highlight to black.

You might find that if you highlight the Eshin grey first, and then wash with a mix of half Nuln OIl with half Drakenhof Nightshade (to get a very dark blue), you might get enough contrast to give you a more striking result that reads as "black".