Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

AoF move out of transports


34 replies to this topic

#26
dracpanzer

dracpanzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 361 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan, U.S.A
  • Chapter Name: Sisters of Battle Crusade Army

@Drider, yep that was the paragraph I was referencing.
@Dracpanzer
"Units do not count as being on the table for the purposes of abilities or auras"
I could be mistaken, but I don't think this is in the rulebook. As stated above from Pg. 183 the correct wording is:
"Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked."
The wording is important "the unit that has the ability is embarked"!


Forgive me for not being at home with my rulebook.

The wording is important. First sentence. "Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked." This settles it for me, the Repressor rules allow a unit to shoot during the shooting phase while embarked. Were it not for the Repressor the embarked unit cannot do anything or be affected in any way, and because of the Repressor rules they can only shoot out of it. This sentence applies to embarked units.

The wording is important. Second sentence. "Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked." This is talking about units like the Canoness being unable to provide their re-roll 1's effect to other nearby units while they themselves are embarked.

An embarked Canoness can't give anyone a re-roll. A Canoness who isn't embarked in a vehicle could give re-roll 1's to units within 6" who are either disembarked infantry or vehicles with the necessary keywords. A unit embarked in a Repressor within 6" of a Canoness would not get to re-roll 1's because it is embarked and cannot be affected in any way. The embarked unit could shoot in the shooting phase however because the Repressor rules specifically gives them that ability.
gallery_53617_12047_29898.jpg

#27
bkde

bkde

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 142 posts
Thanks Drider!

@dracpanzer
Again, sorry, but you're adding in wording that simply is not there. I think you and I will have to agree to disagree until the FAQ comes out.

Edited by bkde, 03 December 2017 - 07:56 AM.


#28
Jacinda

Jacinda

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,236 posts

I see this as a case of general vs specific.  The general AoF ruiles do cover the "specifically stated" requirement.  When permission is denied in one exact circumstance it needs to be allowed by another rule that explicitly covers that exact circumstance.


  • dracpanzer likes this

#29
Drider

Drider

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

I've had a reply from the GW Community team.




Warhammer 40,000 Hey ***, we've passed this on up to the rules team to take a look at. 
 
For now we'd be inclined to agree with **** given as how generally rules that are an exception to the norm will say so - as Act of Faith does not specify that is can be used by an embarked unit, we would assume that it cannot be.

 

 


  • dracpanzer and robofish7591 like this

#30
bkde

bkde

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 142 posts
Good deal. Hopefully we'll get a firm ruling soon. Would be a real shame if doms couldn't double tap out of repressors though.

#31
Drider

Drider

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 437 posts
  • Gender:Male

personally I've never played it that you could because of the ambiguity of it. Which is why I say that since the repressor point increase the immolator is a real option worth considering. In most of my games if i don't get 1st turn then 2 out of 3 of my transports have been opened anyway and that's with doing vanguards so that they are in celestine's bubble to give them a 5++. More often than not doms in repressors just feel like bullet magnets.


  • dracpanzer likes this

#32
bkde

bkde

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 142 posts
Immo always was the real option, them flamers are deadly!

#33
Montford981

Montford981

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 337 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nigh that dark and bloody river.
  • Chapter Name: Sisters of Battle/Red Templars

I like placing either Retributors with Heavy Flamers in my Repressor, or 6 Ordo Hereticus Acolytes with Plasma Guns if I know I'll be facing Chaos..


Peace may cost less than war, or infinitely more, for war cannot cost more than one's own life.

 

-Klingon proverb


#34
CaptainMarsh

CaptainMarsh

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Chapter Name: Order of the Vigilant Heart

 

I've had a reply from the GW Community team.




Warhammer 40,000 Hey ***, we've passed this on up to the rules team to take a look at. 
 
For now we'd be inclined to agree with **** given as how generally rules that are an exception to the norm will say so - as Act of Faith does not specify that is can be used by an embarked unit, we would assume that it cannot be.

 

 

 

Yep. Seems pretty cut and dry to me.


  • dracpanzer likes this
QUOTE (BrotherAtrox @ Oct 5 2008, 07:45 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Pieces of paper for impassable terrain? My main problem with all of this is it really takes away from the game. A giant sheet of white paper on the table sort of breaks the theme of tiny fake armies running around tiny fake locales.


Real men play Adepta Sororitas!


#35
bkde

bkde

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 142 posts
I received a similar response. Still hoping for an FAQ on repressors, as I think the ability to double tap with them is pretty fair, but I guess that's the way it goes! Cheers!



Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users