Storm Sons: A Work in Progress

Nineswords

New year, new projects. 

I've been working on my little DIY chapter for a couple of years on and off for eagle-eyed readers enjoying the Liber Astartes forum. I've been really buzzing off the release of 8th edition and the introduction of the new Primaris range. I've been really taken with the scale of the new models and I was fortunate to receive a load of Primaris combat squads. I spent some time over the last couple of weeks in the holidays putting together what must be the first unit of Space Marines in over two years, and I intend on building more so I can get stuck into playing with my local gaming group.

Whilst I love the new kits, I found the legs a little bit too curvy for my personal taste, and wanted to reintroduce an element of blunt brutality back into the armour, more in keeping with my chapter. I mocked up some kits from GW's website and recoloured them in Adobe Photoshop, using the paint scheme I'll be using (bronze) based on my fluff.

I'd never actually seen anyone do any conversions using both the Tartaros terminator kits and the Intercessors, so I ordered a box from GW and start kit bashing. Here's the result of my first squad. The proportions worked out better than I'd hoped, and it was a surprisingly easy kitbash to do. It gives me the scale of the Primaris marines, with more of the variation I've come to love in GW and FW models. As the heads and shoulders were the same scale, I've got loads of unassembled FW from before 8th edition.

zqQ8fhH.jpg

X8jEvyl.jpg

P9Wr2a8.jpg

Edited by Nineswords

[sergeant - fluff to come]

I used the Tartaros sergeant body, and had him helmless in keeping with normal standard. The power sword is straight up from the Tartaros kit, as there wasn't a huge difference in scale with the pistol holding hand. The pauldrons are a FW World Eaters left shoulder pad I still need to GS my chapter symbol into, and a Sternguard shoulderpad.

AwSXKbg.jpg