Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Multiple Lords of War


16 replies to this topic

#1
StarkRaver

StarkRaver

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5 posts
Putting aside any question or whether this is sensible (it's probably not) is it possible to get a primarch & 2 knight lancers into a 3000 point list?

The plan here was to include the primarch as a lord of war in the primary (age of darkness) detachment and have the 2 knights form part of a Questoris knight detachment as I think this allies as mechanicus.

Is this doable?

#2
LtDan

LtDan

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 441 posts
25% low allowance. Can run morty in primary then knight allied attachment. Tho at 3000pt its not going to work

#3
Fenbain

Fenbain

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 270 posts
In that case, only Mortarion would be a Lord of War. The allied Questoris Knights would be a HQ and Troops choice within their own detachment.
  • infyrana likes this

#4
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 17,774 posts

In that case, only Mortarion would be a Lord of War. The allied Questoris Knights would be a HQ and Troops choice within their own detachment.

 

This.

 

Knights aren't LoW in a Questoris Detachment, they have the "Household Rank" rule that changes their rules slightly and gives them a new battlefield role.


  • infyrana likes this

#5
LtDan

LtDan

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 441 posts
Yes but can primarch chosen take allies ?? As don't think you could fit them all in to 3k otherwise

#6
StarkRaver

StarkRaver

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5 posts
It would be for night lords so i think they can ally with the mechanicum as fellow warriors

#7
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 17,774 posts

Yes but can primarch chosen take allies ?? As don't think you could fit them all in to 3k otherwise


You don't need Primarchs chosen. You just run any other RoW that has a LoW slot :)

#8
NoLifeKing

NoLifeKing

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 179 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Faction: Word Bearers

Agreed, Legions can't take knights as a LoW Choice. The only way to take knights alongside your legion, would be to take them as an allied detachment in which they are HQ, Troop or other FOC slot, but they are not Lord of War choice.

So you can take your primarch as your Low of choice, and an allied detachment of questoris knights. 


nolifeking.png gallery_29004_9303_1654.pnggallery2900493031545.pnggallery_48988_13169_21191.pnggallery_29004_9303_5366.png


#9
Fenbain

Fenbain

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 270 posts

Agreed, Legions can't take knights as a LoW Choice. The only way to take knights alongside your legion, would be to take them as an allied detachment in which they are HQ, Troop or other FOC slot, but they are not Lord of War choice.

So you can take your primarch as your Low of choice, and an allied detachment of questoris knights.


Legions can take a Knight as a LoW. Not the Atrapos or the Porphyrion, but the rest can be taken within a War Machine detachment.
  • infyrana likes this

#10
NoLifeKing

NoLifeKing

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 179 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Faction: Word Bearers

 

Agreed, Legions can't take knights as a LoW Choice. The only way to take knights alongside your legion, would be to take them as an allied detachment in which they are HQ, Troop or other FOC slot, but they are not Lord of War choice.

So you can take your primarch as your Low of choice, and an allied detachment of questoris knights.


Legions can take a Knight as a LoW. Not the Atrapos or the Porphyrion, but the rest can be taken within a War Machine detachment.

 

I am fairly sure that is false information, might i ask for clarification as to where it says knights being a LoW choice for the legions? last time i checked their rules stated that knights are LoW choice for mechanicum and imperial army, but not the legions.


nolifeking.png gallery_29004_9303_1654.pnggallery2900493031545.pnggallery_48988_13169_21191.pnggallery_29004_9303_5366.png


#11
Dhar'Neth

Dhar'Neth

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 168 posts
I belive there was some FaQ draft photo circulating the net. Seemed like beta version. I belive they also qualify for War Machine detachment, don't they?

Edited by Dhar'Neth, 19 January 2018 - 11:15 PM.


#12
Fenbain

Fenbain

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 270 posts


Agreed, Legions can't take knights as a LoW Choice. The only way to take knights alongside your legion, would be to take them as an allied detachment in which they are HQ, Troop or other FOC slot, but they are not Lord of War choice.

So you can take your primarch as your Low of choice, and an allied detachment of questoris knights.

Legions can take a Knight as a LoW. Not the Atrapos or the Porphyrion, but the rest can be taken within a War Machine detachment.
I am fairly sure that is false information, might i ask for clarification as to where it says knights being a LoW choice for the legions? last time i checked their rules stated that knights are LoW choice for mechanicum and imperial army, but not the legions.

Page 9 of the most recent Age of Darkness army list book - "War Machine Detachment: 1-2 Super-heavy Vehicles of the same unit type, each with a Hull Points value of 8 or less, and each chosen either from the specific army list for the Primary Detachment, the Questoris Knights army list found in the the Crusade Imperialis army list, or the optional Super-heavy list found on page 10."

So you've been able to take a Knight as a LoW within a Legion list since whenever this came out (mid-2016?). I don't believe this is applicable to the Atrapos or Porphyrion, as they state within their own rules that they can only be taken within a Mechanicum list. But the other variants are all good to go.

This was briefly reversed with the new rulebook that came out this year (very very end of 2017), but the subsequent FAQ undid the change. So Knights as LoW within a Legion army via the War Machine Detachment option are still very much legal and have been for roughly a year and a half :-)

#13
infyrana

infyrana

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,475 posts
  • Location:UK

Just a small query to extend this:  What options do I have to run the Atrapos if I run a Legion of Space Marines as my main force, allied Questoris ?  In which case, are there any requirements to this beyond HQ + Troop ? (I sadly do not own the Questoris book but I do have a single unmade Knight Warden kit).



#14
Fenbain

Fenbain

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 270 posts

Just a small query to extend this: What options do I have to run the Atrapos if I run a Legion of Space Marines as my main force, allied Questoris ? In which case, are there any requirements to this beyond HQ + Troop ? (I sadly do not own the Questoris book but I do have a single unmade Knight Warden kit).


Yeah, I'm fairly sure the only way would be to use an allied Questoris detachment. So you'd need the Atrapos and at least one other Knight. As part of a Questoris force, they also get to have Household ranks and get some nice buffs/specialties from those.
  • infyrana likes this

#15
Dhar'Neth

Dhar'Neth

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 168 posts
Atrapos is also limited in Questoris armies to 0-1 per 2000 pts.

#16
infyrana

infyrana

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,475 posts
  • Location:UK

Does that mean you are required to have 2000+ points, or can you still have one if you are 1-1999pts?  Ie, 1k of knight models?



#17
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 17,774 posts

Does that mean you are required to have 2000+ points, or can you still have one if you are 1-1999pts?  Ie, 1k of knight models?

 

You can use one in under 2000.

 

But you need 2001 at least to use 2.


  • infyrana likes this



Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users