Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Horticulous Slimux and Feculent Gnarlmaws


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1
radionausea

radionausea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 241 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: Nurgle, Ministorum
Slimux has the ability "Seed the Garden of Nurgle" which allow him to, at the end of his movement phase, add new a Gnarlmaw to the board within 3" of him.

Would you need to put the points aside for gnarlmaws? It doesn't say you have to, and normally it does say now if you need to. Gnarlmaws are 50 points each though. Also take up a fortification slot so Slimux is an easy way to get them in your army without having to take a fortification detachment.
Once they're on the board they're treated as terrain and can't be targeted.

Btw, his profile is:
M:5" 2+ WS and BS S5 T6 W9 A4 L8 4+
Weapon +1S -3AP d3 damage
Plus an attack from the snail in addition to normal attacks S7 AP-4(!) 3damage

165points

Edited by radionausea, 12 January 2018 - 11:32 AM.


#2
sfPanzer

sfPanzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 12,807 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Knights of Baal

Yes just like for summoning. As a general rule any unit you add to the game that wasn't part of your list before needs reinforcement points.

 

That being said, I'm curious. What kind of profile does the tree itself has? And could you theoretically add him into your list without summoning it? Could you place it outside of your deployment zone then or would it has to be placed within your deployment zone?


Disclaimer:

If my posts appear rude to you, I apologize. It's not meant to be rude in any way, it's just the way folks are in my country. It's really more about being direct than being rude. I know how it's perceived in the english speaking community and I already try to tone it down but I barely notice when it's too much since it's normal for me.


So yeah, I'm really not rude it's basically just cultural differences that act against me here. Again, I apologize.

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#3
DuskRaider

DuskRaider

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 5,078 posts
  • Location:Albany, NY
  • Faction: Death Guard, 3rd Grand Company

It's technically a Fortification so I'd assume you can place them before the game started if you so choose, but only in your own deployment zone. That being said, I don't have the book nor have I seen anything concerning this so it's all just conjecture. 


Check out my Photobucket Here
 DuskRaider's 40K Death Guard: A Return to the Past
 
 DuskRaider's Word Bearers Shadow War Kill Team & INQ28 Chaos Coven
 
 DuskRaider's 30K Word Bearers Force
 
 DuskRaider's 3rd Grand Company Death Guard Legion Force
 
To view my older threads, please go to the link HERE and download the add-on to view Photobucket linked images.

#4
radionausea

radionausea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 241 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: Nurgle, Ministorum
The tree hasnt got a profile bit counts as a fortification for purposes of army building. I'm assuming if you take it as a fortification it has to be in your deployment.
Once it's on the board you can't target it with anything and it counts as terrain.

+2 cover to Nurgle daemons. (Not vehicles or monsters)
At the beginning of your turn roll a d6. 4-5 = mortal wound 6=d3 mortal wounds to non-Nurgle units within 3"
Nurgle Daemon units that start their turn within 7" can advance/charge/shoot even if they advanced or fell back
Chaos characters re-roll any dice for summoning


It's definitely worth 50pts

-I have the book!

Edited by radionausea, 12 January 2018 - 12:10 PM.

  • Commissar K. likes this

#5
sfPanzer

sfPanzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 12,807 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Knights of Baal

Neat.


Disclaimer:

If my posts appear rude to you, I apologize. It's not meant to be rude in any way, it's just the way folks are in my country. It's really more about being direct than being rude. I know how it's perceived in the english speaking community and I already try to tone it down but I barely notice when it's too much since it's normal for me.


So yeah, I'm really not rude it's basically just cultural differences that act against me here. Again, I apologize.

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#6
Finkmilkana

Finkmilkana

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 285 posts

Once it's on the board you can't target it with anything and it counts as terrain.

That sounds incredible strong if the board has a lot of terrain already. „Oh you have a landraider that you send over the right front where there is only one place where it fits between buildings? Now it can’t pass anymore.“
  • Augustus b'Raass likes this

#7
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 18,711 posts

Once it's on the board you can't target it with anything and it counts as terrain.

That sounds incredible strong if the board has a lot of terrain already. „Oh you have a landraider that you send over the right front where there is only one place where it fits between buildings? Now it can’t pass anymore.“

The Garden of Nurgle cares not for your petty worries of mortals!
  • Commissar K. likes this

#8
radionausea

radionausea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 241 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: Nurgle, Ministorum
I'm just imagining him with Feather Tokens from D&D to make the trees grow instantly

#9
MasterDeath

MasterDeath

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 132 posts

Just to clarify for OP: If units added later in game do not cost reinforcement points its stated. An example would be Spore Mines created by the tyranid Spore Mine shooting thingy. Paying Reinforcement is the standard.



#10
Marshlands

Marshlands

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 180 posts

Once it's on the board you can't target it with anything and it counts as terrain.

That sounds incredible strong if the board has a lot of terrain already. „Oh you have a landraider that you send over the right front where there is only one place where it fits between buildings? Now it can’t pass anymore.“
The Garden of Nurgle cares not for your petty worries of mortals!

+ 2 cover on Oblits seems pretty potent.
  • Commissar K. and Sheesh Mode like this

#11
Brother Bish

Brother Bish

    +ADEPTUS DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Kalamazoo, MI
  • Faction: Dark Angels
The "Seed The Garden of Nurgle" specifies that "you can add a new Feculant Gnarlmaw to your army (containing a Feculant Gnarlmaw.)" So you do need to have a Fortification Detachment with a Gnarlmaw to begin with.

Edited by Brother Bish, 13 January 2018 - 03:41 AM.

"Perhaps if we just talked to this Cypher chap we could get to the bottom of this whole misunderstanding" - The last words of Brother Maynard


#12
Blackarmor_redtruth

Blackarmor_redtruth

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 204 posts
  • Faction: Order of the Glorious Sun

Paying the extra points is fair, same with Tzeentch and Co. popping spawns with their mad character killing staves. Also, from the POV of a Slaanesh player, what's up with the silly Nurgle names?

 

<3



#13
shandwen

shandwen

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,783 posts
  • Location:US
  • Faction: It changes with the season...
That is going to be super annoying in large games... dropping 200 points of trees in a choke point/objective and there being absolutely nothing anyone can do about it. At least in this system they cost something.
I detest stuff that occurs and nothing at all in the system can do anything about it.

Now in Technicolor!


#14
sfPanzer

sfPanzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 12,807 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Knights of Baal

The "Seed The Garden of Nurgle" specifies that "you can add a new Feculant Gnarlmaw to your army (containing a Feculant Gnarlmaw.)" So you do need to have a Fortification Detachment with a Gnarlmaw to begin with.


Uhm...no. Nothing there says or implies that you have to have a fortification detachment with a tree in your list to be able to summon other trees.


Edited by sfPanzer, 13 January 2018 - 09:21 AM.

  • Commissar K. likes this

Disclaimer:

If my posts appear rude to you, I apologize. It's not meant to be rude in any way, it's just the way folks are in my country. It's really more about being direct than being rude. I know how it's perceived in the english speaking community and I already try to tone it down but I barely notice when it's too much since it's normal for me.


So yeah, I'm really not rude it's basically just cultural differences that act against me here. Again, I apologize.

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#15
Brother Bish

Brother Bish

    +ADEPTUS DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Kalamazoo, MI
  • Faction: Dark Angels

The "Seed The Garden of Nurgle" specifies that "you can add a new Feculant Gnarlmaw to your army (containing a Feculant Gnarlmaw.)" So you do need to have a Fortification Detachment with a Gnarlmaw to begin with.


Uhm...no. Nothing there says or implies that you have to have a fortification detachment with a tree in your list to be able to summon other trees.

I'm not going to say I'm not wrong, I could be misreading but then what does the "(containing a Feculant Gnarlmaw)" mean in that rule? The only way I see an army containing a Feculant Gnarlmaw is if they take them in a fortification detachment.
"Perhaps if we just talked to this Cypher chap we could get to the bottom of this whole misunderstanding" - The last words of Brother Maynard


#16
radionausea

radionausea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 241 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: Nurgle, Ministorum
Feculent Gnarlmaws as a unit can contain 1-3 gnarlmaaw. I read that as you bring 1 gnarlmaw onto the board not a unit of 1-3

Edited by radionausea, 16 January 2018 - 07:24 AM.

  • Magpie Knight likes this

#17
sfPanzer

sfPanzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 12,807 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Knights of Baal
^this
It simply means you summon one tree, not up to three.

Disclaimer:

If my posts appear rude to you, I apologize. It's not meant to be rude in any way, it's just the way folks are in my country. It's really more about being direct than being rude. I know how it's perceived in the english speaking community and I already try to tone it down but I barely notice when it's too much since it's normal for me.


So yeah, I'm really not rude it's basically just cultural differences that act against me here. Again, I apologize.

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#18
Brother Bish

Brother Bish

    +ADEPTUS DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Kalamazoo, MI
  • Faction: Dark Angels
Ah, I see what your saying. Knowing I'm not the only one that read it that way, I think that could have been worded better. What makes it confusing is that the "(containing a Feculant Gnarlmaw)" comes after the word "army" making it read like that it is in regard to that word. The "(containing a Feculant Gnarlmaw)" should have been after "Feculant Gnarlmaw"

In other words it should have read: "you can add a new Feculant Gnarlmaw (containing a Feculant Gnarlmaw) to your army."
"Perhaps if we just talked to this Cypher chap we could get to the bottom of this whole misunderstanding" - The last words of Brother Maynard


#19
DeStinyFiSh

DeStinyFiSh

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 664 posts

I think this questions fits in here pretty well:

 

Do you think in a pure Daemon Army Horticulus or the Tree are worth it?

All in all I think Hoticulus is very expensive and you will net get to much milage out of him I guess. The tree is nice for its point costs, but all of the buffs seem very situational to me.



#20
sfPanzer

sfPanzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 12,807 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Knights of Baal

I definitely think the tree is worth it. Not sure about Horticulus himself but at least he can summon trees outside of the deployment zone so that's something to consider.


Disclaimer:

If my posts appear rude to you, I apologize. It's not meant to be rude in any way, it's just the way folks are in my country. It's really more about being direct than being rude. I know how it's perceived in the english speaking community and I already try to tone it down but I barely notice when it's too much since it's normal for me.


So yeah, I'm really not rude it's basically just cultural differences that act against me here. Again, I apologize.

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#21
radionausea

radionausea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 241 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: Nurgle, Ministorum
Throw Slimux against an elite infantry troop and he could do alright. Especially with virulent blessing.
4 S6 (wounds most infantry 3+ 2+ with VB and Ap-3 d3 damage) plus the snail attack that's also going to wound on a 2+ on them and also against light vehicles on a 2+. Given he hits on a 2+ as well he's not bad. The planting of hideous trees is the icing on the cake.

#22
Wolf Lord Loki

Wolf Lord Loki

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 692 posts
You have to have already bought at least one feculant gnarlmaw to be able to plant more is how i interpret that part of the rules.
Now Slimux is nearly three times more expensive (power points) than a basic herald and 4 power points more expensive than Epidimious and his tally

Would it be fair to assume that the cost of some of the new gnarlmaws he plants are included in his cost?

Realistically i cant see him managing to plant more than three in a game before you are too close to the enemy to be able to plant a tree

And it doesnt say 'summon a tree' or 'plant trees from reserve' it just says "Add a new feculant gnarlmaw to your army"

It also specifies it must be one inch from models and terrain when deployed. And they do not look like they have a small foot print!!
Battle Tracker for my White Scars (Swindon 2008): Games this year 5 - Wins 2, Losses 2, Draws 1

Opponents:
Grey Knights 0/ 1/ 0 Imperial Guard 1/ 0/ 0
Eldar - 0/ 1/ 0 Crimson Fists 0/ 0/ 1
Tau 1/ 0/ 0

#23
MasterDeath

MasterDeath

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 132 posts

My interpretation:

 

..., you can add a new Feculant Gnarlmaw (...) to your army (containing 1 Feculant Gnarlmaw)

 

The last part defines that the unit of Feculant Gnarlmaw (FC from now on) includes only 1 Model, not 2 or 3 as would be possible per Codex Entry. So you cannot add one Unit of FC of any size, but a unit of one model. A better sentence for this rule would be:

 

..., you can add a new (unit of) Feculant Gnarlmaw (...) to your army (containing 1 Feculant Gnarlmaw)

 

As per current rules, anything that comes into the game, that was not part of you army rooster has to be paid from reserve points, unless stated otherwise. (Rulebook page 214) An example of something that adds units without reserve points are Biovores. I fear there is not much to discuss as the basic rule is "you have to pay" and nothing on Slimux' entry says otherwise.


  • sfPanzer likes this

#24
sfPanzer

sfPanzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 12,807 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Knights of Baal

Would it be fair to assume that the cost of some of the new gnarlmaws he plants are included in his cost?
 

A definite "no". You still have to pay the points for the trees you summon via reinforcement points in matched play.


Disclaimer:

If my posts appear rude to you, I apologize. It's not meant to be rude in any way, it's just the way folks are in my country. It's really more about being direct than being rude. I know how it's perceived in the english speaking community and I already try to tone it down but I barely notice when it's too much since it's normal for me.


So yeah, I'm really not rude it's basically just cultural differences that act against me here. Again, I apologize.

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#25
Lagrath

Lagrath

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,887 posts
  • Location:Lehi, Utah, USA
  • Faction: Hexfleet Virules

He's unfortunately pretty overpriced considering that you need to pay for each tree and that the advance and charge only works if the tree was already there. Not to mention he only moves 6" and costs 2 CP to deep strike. GW is making you pay a premium for the nearly useless buffs to Beasts (they are still bad regardless), which is regrettable. I don't know if Slimux will see much play in serious lists.

 

I can only see Slimux being maybe worth it if the game changes so that lots of people take huge horde screens, maybe with feel no pain buffs. Then maybe a ton of Beasts backed by Slimux dropping trees could be good. Maybe.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users