Index Astartes: Shut Down

Stark

Hail, Battle Brothers & Battle Sisters - Masters and Mistresses of the Liber,

WELCOME!

med_gallery_104866_14197_1053132.png

I'm new to the game 40K and the B&C, and I want to build a Space Marine army. I'll be acquiring a codex & some models this weekend. Meanwhile, I've been dipping into the various forums and gaining inspiration (and spending too much time using the online painter). I'm feeling the creative bug now. Everyone likes to hit a great idea out of the ballpark their first time out, but I know that rarely happens. Anything I start now will most likely change the more I work on it.

But, we all have to start somewhere, which is why I'm here. If I'm going to do this, I'd like to do so with respect to the lore (which I know little of).

This will be my "placeholder" post, to be edited with the most updated version of my Index Astartes.

[edit] "Clean Slate Protocol" activated

gallery_104866_14200_1125706.gif

Edited by Stark

Okay, let me get a few things off the table.

sml_gallery_104866_14172_77830.png

I admit my "namesake" had a few ideas that seemed "cool". However, the more I think about them, the less I think they would be.

So, I won't be naming my space marines: Iron Avengers, Golden Avengers, Avengers, Silver Centurions, War Machines, or Iron Patriots.

Nor will I be using their paint schemes. Not that I don't think they'd be good to use, but they'd automatically commit me to a theme.

sml_gallery_104866_14191_123633.jpg <--- You can click on the image if you want a closer look at the "Iron Man" paint schemes.

Although, I must admit, War Machines actually is a cool name. Oh well. Maybe later.

My first scheme was based on the Black Templars: black/white pads with black skulls replacing the Templar crosses.

Then I decided to go with red on the pads. The skulls and chest wings are battleship grey.

The third is my chosen one, battleship grey aquilas & helmets, black armor/white pads, codex company color trim.